We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place and good food”

Bistro Regent Grill La Rochelle
Ranked #145 of 598 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

Their menu is deliberately limited to 5 items, but as a result is extremely well executed. The steaks were well enjoyed and the frites were in plentiful supply. Clearly these were freshly cooked from potatoes rather than being processed. Very tasty and possibly the best frites I've had.

The waiter looking after us apologized for his poor English, which was way better than our French. He had a lot of fun with us, which h made for a pleasant evening meal.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank SteveKodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 293 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Good restaurant with a simple menu. The meat was good and the sauce that goes with it is a pure delight.
Been there many time mainly to eat the beef/sauce and the chips.
Sadly the service is not always good...
Often they forget something...not very professional. Shame. But the restaurant has a nice concept.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Bi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017

Having unexpectedly had to spent a few hours in La Rochelle hospital A&E we visited this nearby restaurant and requested a very simple dinner of salad and chips. It turned out very well and the service was very good and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and meal.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IFM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile

We arrived after a 5 hour drive with tired, hungry, grumpy teenagers. The greeting was friendly; the seating efficient;the service excellent; and the food superb. We are a fussy goody family and no-one could find anything to complain about! And on top of having the best tiramisu in our lives, the price was very reasonable! 5/5 Phil et famille, Wellington, New Zealand

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank PhilM2919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

First of all the plates on the table were dirty. The service was slow even though there were only 3 tables. For a place that has such a limited menu I really do expect great things from the kitchen however the steak was very average and full of fat, you get a load of greasy chips and no veg. The so called special sauce was nothing special and the deserts tasted like any other ready make frozen deserts. Forget it.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank freshkutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Regent Grill La Rochelle also viewed

Puilboreau, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
Chatelaillon-Plage, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
Puilboreau, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Bistro Regent Grill La Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing