We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in a cozy cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property
Pigeonnier 42msq with high beamed ceilings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pigeonnier 42msq with high beamed ceilings
Saltwater swimming pool 11x5m surrounded by stone walls and a locked gate. Large double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Pigeonnier 42msq with high beamed ceilings
Saltwater swimming pool 11x5m surrounded by stone walls and a locked gate.
Large double bed
Inside the Pigeonnier
Lounge area with a double bed settee and a wood burner
High beamed ceilings
Kitchen area with a washing machine, cooker, microwave & fridge etc.
Bathroom with large walkin shower
The beautiful original old stone Pigeon Loft
Choice of sunbeds and shaded area around the fully enclosed pool
Childrens play area
Fort Boyard just off the coast
Tower guarding the beautiful old port of La Rochelle
Local sandy beaches
Quaint old port of La Rochelle with many bars & restaurants
The 'Hermione' built by hand in Rochefort
Dolmen just 2kms away
Fantastic evening sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
alexbmali...
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a cozy cottage!”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Le Pigeonnier was perfect for our family of four. Our boys (4 and 6) loved the sleeping loft and we found the big bed to be comfortable. We cooked dinner and breakfast both days in the well-stocked kitchen area and enjoyed the calm countryside and proximity to La Rochelle. There is a wood-burning stove, which was the only source of heat (and a portable propane heater), but it kept us comfortable. And Nigel was great about getting it started up again for us before we got back from a full day out. Bring slippers!
I can see how this property would be wonderful in the summer too, but we certainly enjoyed our winter escape.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Thank you Alex we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsicle25
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful break at this pretty accommodation. Clean, well equipped and located in a beautiful rural location but still within a short drive to beaches and attractions. Lovely on site pool kept immaculately clean. Suzy and Nigel were very welcoming and the booking and payment process was hasslefree. A lovely little place for a great holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our property, look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepatmor...
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Holiday!”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Pigeonnier is a beautiful studio style cottage and we loved our stay here and will definitely.
be coming back.

The location is great as you're really close to the beaches and a big Intermarché is only 10 minutes drive away. The owners are absolutely lovely, really helpful and friendly and give you access to bikes as well which is a nice touch! Really good Wi-fi and the pool is even better than on the photos.

We came with our dog Poppy and she loved walking down the country roads and playing in the large gardens too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAngel b
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you prefer the countryside to the bustle of the city, you'll love the Pigeonnier!”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for four nights on our way home from Barcelona and I'm sure we'll return to the Pigeonnier in the not-too-distant future.There's an enormous amount to do and to see in the area - with cycles provided if you want to pedal through the seemingly endless French farmlands - or you can swim/laze by the pool, if you so desire. La Rochelle is an easy drive away if you prefer the beach - avoid the motorway and take the back roads and have a great time. We did!

Thanks to Susie and Nigel for a truly relaxing and most enjoyable break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally H
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So quiet, the best relaxing holiday ever”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Good central position for visiting Charentes Maritime with all that it offers. French roads very good but advise TomTom it really does help! Everyone we met very friendly and helpful and such a laugh using schoolgirl french and dictionary. Would not hesitate to go again and the plus was a pair of Hoopoes flying around the gite and storks nesting on top of pylons. a very relaxing holiday, no rush, no hassle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
735John
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a very fine pigeon loft!”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This gite is a converted former stone pigeon dwelling and boy is it something! The photos on Flipkey give an idea but being there is best - great accommodation. Nigel and Suzy are the owners living in the separate big house but will always find time to chat or give you local knowledge. At this time of year you'll need to light the wood-burning stove...good fun. The double bed is most comfortable; the kitchen provides everything; the bathroom has a lovely strong shower.
Once you've found your bearings it's easy to find La Rochelle (a must), Niort, Rochefort, Royan, Saintes (a must) or Angouleme.
I will definitely return.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you for taking time to write a review and we very much look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely french countryside”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a delightful stay in this gite, surrounded by lovely countryside, and close to coasts and islands and fascinating towns...all very comfortable and manageable

All delightful and simple.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing