We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really great holiday!”
other travelers have booked this property
11 x 5m salt water swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
11 x 5m salt water swimming pool
Inside the Kitchen area in the Pressoir Double bedroom in the Pressoir
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
11 x 5m salt water swimming pool
Inside the Kitchen area in the Pressoir
Double bedroom in the Pressoir
Double bedroom
Bathroom with a large walkin shower
Twin bedroom in the Pressoir
Shaded area next to the pool.
Large garden & play area with swings, wendy house & trampoline
Private eating area for the Pressoir
Beautiful local sandy beaches
The famous Fort Boyard just off the coast
Historical old port of La Rochelle with some of the best seafood restaurants in France
Hand built ship the 'Hermione' in Rochefort
Local Baudet donkeys
Fantastic locally bought fresh seafood.
Steps leading upto the front door.
Locked gate to pool area.
Port des Minimes
Overlooking open countryside to the rear.
View from the front door of the Pressoir, looking at the farm courtyard.
Amazing evening sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gerem1
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasteful and well equipped but too many issues”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The gite was very tastefully decorated and Suzanne and Nigel were very nice even though they told us a whole lot of rules as soon as we arrived. The gite was well equipped and very clean.
There were a few issues, First there is no private outside dinning area as stated, only a table and chairs in the car park. Second the kids bedroom only has a tiny window and is like a cave, cold and chilly. Thirdly there is an outside door coming into the kids bedroom and we didn't feel our child was secure. The gite was quite cold as there was only one window in the living area. Also the gite was quite hard to find, I was looking for The Pressoir but the site is called something completely different.
I know this was a cheap gite but we were disappointed and almost booked into another hotel.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2015
Thank you for your comments; I am sorry that the Pressoir did not reach your expectations.
The private outside dining area is behind the fence next to your washing line, the reason you found the outside table and chairs outside the front door of the Gite is because all of our summer guests preferred it here to gain more sun and better views of the open fields.
Our welcome talk on arrival is mainly to guide everybody to the facilities we offer and help everybody have a pleasant and safe holiday experience with us.
Since opening the Pressoir in 2009 we have had over 150 family’s staying and we were very surprised at your comments of the twin bedroom as we have never had any complaints before, we do supply heaters when it does get cold out of the main summer season. The actual second door which does have a lock and key is also a fire escape and to gain access to the private eating area and washing line.
We normally send our guests our full address, telephone number, sat. nav. Co-ordinates and a map of our positioning to Landrais, every body in Landrais knows where we are and we have a sign on the end of our lane on the main road saying “Montlieu Gites”.
If you had spoken to us about any grievances while you were here we would have (like we always do) done our best to help you as much as possible. We are sorry that you did not find the Gite to your expectations and will look into seeing if it is possible to improve our already high standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeGeeste...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A really great holiday!”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pressior and Suzanne and Nigel were extremely accommodating during our stay. It's ideally located for day trips to any of the Islands (Re, Aix, etc) and city trips to La Rochelle and Rochefort. The Pressior was comfortable and clean and we tended to have lunch out during the day, and cook in in the evening. This usually meant having evening chats with the other guests which was always entertaining. Plenty of space to wander around, and my wife read in the sun during a couple of the late afternoons in the quiet. Landrais doesn't offer much, but there is plenty near by in Surgeres, with a couple nice restaurants. The restaurant in Landrais that is only open for dinner on Saturdays and Sundays, is a little quirky, but entertaining. I can't guarantee the weather for anyone, but ours was fabulous the whole week. Really great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrilligBl...
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, excellent hosts, very well appointed and comfortable gite.”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Suzanne and Nigel were so welcoming, nothing was too much. Our gite was lovely. A most beautiful location, to open our shutters each day to a view in the sun across acres of golden corn, was breathtaking! So peaceful. The gite was extremely well appointed, well equipped, and very comfortable. Not a long drive to the nearest beach, quite close enough to La Rochelle and Ile de Re, lovely to leave these busy places behind at the end of the day and return to tranquillity! Great pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent gites, location and scenery”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recently spent 2 weeks at this location (first week at le pressoir, second week at the farmhouse). We found the owners very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The gites themselves were in excellent order and well equipped. The actually location of the gites is perfect for visits to La Rochelle, Rochefort, ile de re amoungst others. The pool was perfect. Our 4 year old daughter enjoyed the trampoline, wendy house and swings as well as the pool and the little toys and childrens books in the gites. We had a lovely stay and highly recommend these gites to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in this lovely area of france.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana B
Estepona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superior Quality in a Beautiful Rural Setting.”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Having just enjoyed a 10 day stay at this beautiful little gite complex we are pleased to thoroughly recommend it. The owners are lovely - helpful but unobtrusive . The accommodation is excellent - tasteful, comfortable and well equipped. The grounds and pool are well maintained and clean. In short, everything sets up for a relaxing break in a setting that is rural but by no means remote being within easy reach of amenities and attractions. Excellent.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamDurkan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, lovely hosts, idylic setting, look forward to returning!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
6
people found this review helpful

My family and I stayed in Le Pressoir. From the moment of arrival Suzanne and Nigel were extremely helpful and great hosts. Le Pressoir had everything we needed, and was extremely clean and thoughtfully furnished. The view from the living room window is wonderful. The nearest village, Landrais, is only a short walk away with a bar which also serves wonderful home made pizzas. There is also a restaurant, Le Bateau Lavoir, which is an authentic experience not to be missed!! Overall, we would not hesitate to return and would strongly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrine B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing