We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here just for the helpfulness of the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Masqhotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 12, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights, first time in La Rochelle. The location is great if you arrive by train, only 5 mins walking all on the flat, and pretty good by car, easy to find off the main road. There is a garage which is reasonably priced and very secure, with a lift through to all floors of the hotel. The hotel looks as if it's only just opened, but in fact has been going for 7 years. The styling isn't to my taste, very modern, minimalist, but the place is absolutely spotless, a real credit to the housekeeping staff. Reception staff speak perfect English, and the Manager of the hotel is American by birth, so no problems asking for anything. The reception staff could not be more helpful, a credit to the hotel owners for sure. The reception area has 3 computers for free use, although the internet connection is slow and needs resolving, but wifi also available. There is a bar serving all day hot and cold drinks. We had asked for a balcony, but didn't get that, so the first room was disappointing with a view over the offices behind the hotel. But the staff moved us on the second day to a room with a small balcony, but unfortunately the beds were for children, so we moved before that night to an upgraded room with a 'terrasse', at a reasonable extra cost and this was well worth it. All moves taken by the staff with great humour and no trouble at all, very impressive and great customer service. The view was overlooking the town, the balcony very large with chairs and table, and a bigger room, bathroom and a small dressing room. None of the rooms have fridges, but the staff were happy to store any drinks we wanted in their fridge in the bar. Bit of a downside when you want a coffee/tea and have to get milk from reception each time. Again, the room was spotless. Breakfast is great value, cereals, fruit, juice, breads, cold meat and cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon, sometimes sausages sometimes baked beans, even champagne, all help yourself and available until 1030, a relaxed time for holiday makers! The hotel is about 10 mins walk, (again on the flat but with interminable cobbles for people like me with walking difficulties), to the main part of town, with lots of cafes, restaurants, interesting stalls, shops and places to wander around. The fort is great, as is the aquarium, and come out of the town to a little beach and gardens.
I would recommend this place to all, including my mum.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarissa_pants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 735 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

A last minute booking and a very pleasant stay. Comfortable, clean room and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Very close to the port and with secure parking. Can't recommend The Masq highly enough. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrighty320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Walking distance from the train station, easy to find and walking distance to all of La Rochelles restaurants and attractions, clean, stylish and the buffety breakfast (which I hardly ever have) was varied and great value, loaded up on food for the train trip back to Paris. Highlight of the day spent there was seeing a begger on her mobile phone! Only in France!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notrodborefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was actually booked by friends of mine, so I actually did not have a say in its selection but I am certainly glad I stayed there. Only 5 minutes walk from the SNCF train station, this was great both on the way to and from La Rochelle. And the hotel is only another 5 minutes away from the La Rochelle tourist information center, at the heart of the Bay, by the big wheel overlooking the old part of town.
Buffet breakfast was plentiful and even included a bottle of champagne if you wanted to indulge o create your own Mimoa - yes, only in France! As for the rooms and the overall look & feel of the hotel, it must have been recently renovated since it was spotless, with nice LCD screens in the rooms, modern amenities in the washrooms and very nice rooms, comfortable and spacious.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for friends or relatives, whether your trip if for business or leisure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredericg189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was by far the best hotel we stayed at on our whole trip in France.
Clean, no frills, spacious (in European terms), modern. I particularly liked the bathroom, which had a decently sized shower for a change.
Reception staff was very helpful and nice.
Close to everything (5 minutes walk to the train station and about 7 to the Vieux Port).
Breakfast is ample and included champagne, too. There was a bottle of complimentary water waiting for us in the room every day.
There is no fridge in the room, but we asked the reception clerk to cool our wine which they happily did.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 419, which had a small balcony looking over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Modern, clean & comfy. Hotel staff were really friendly & our 14 month old son was showered with attention. The location of the hotel is excellent. When you arrive it looks quite disappointing, but it really is close to the centre & excellent value. Would stay here again. Only comment would be that a standard double is quite small with a baby cot in it also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had chosen La Rochelle as a stop over on a trip north from Bordeaux and we were glad we did. The hotel was a great find. A modern hotel located less than 5 minutes walk from the Vieux Port which is the best part of La Rochelle. The staff were fabulous, the parking was easy, the room was a little tight but had everything we wanted, including a good sized bathroom. Overall, a very modern hotel and to top it off breakfast was worth the charge - excellent range and choice of food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
763 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
0.8 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Masqhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Masqhotel

Address: 17 rue de l Ouvrage a Corne, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Masqhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Masqhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Masqhotel
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing