We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Masqhotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had chosen La Rochelle as a stop over on a trip north from Bordeaux and we were glad we did. The hotel was a great find. A modern hotel located less than 5 minutes walk from the Vieux Port which is the best part of La Rochelle. The staff were fabulous, the parking was easy, the room was a little tight but had everything we wanted, including a good sized bathroom. Overall, a very modern hotel and to top it off breakfast was worth the charge - excellent range and choice of food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 743 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent seven nights at the Masque Best Western in La Rochelle. it turned out to be one of the best Hotels that we stayed in.It was spotlessly clean, very central location. The breakfast was brilliant with plenty of food to choose from, including a hot breakfast. We found the staff most helpfull, friendly and at all times willing to advice on places to visit. Phillippos in particular at the desk was most helpfull and the many questions that we had for him, he was well able to answer. Rooms too were spotless.

Room Tip: The Masque is in a very quite area, so basically, it does not matter which room you choose. the Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theblackdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent well appointed hotel only 4 minutes from le vieux port. Staff friendly and obliging Breakfast excellent including complementary champagne! It is an independent hotel available through direct booking orthrough Best Western Hotels

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A Best Western, located in an anonymous back street doesn't sound inspiring but this hotel is excellent. A modern building with strong designer touches inside and in the rooms that are both interesting and work, very helpful staff and a wonderful breakfast - a continental buffet with fresh, quality, varied choices, this was one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had and was worth every one of the 12 Euros.
The hotel is close to the railway station, but not at all noisy and convenient for the town

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bullmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very convenient within 3 minutes easy walk from the main station. Staff were friendly. The Hotel functions very well and is clean and reliable. The breakfast was very good, with fresh fruit, bacon and eggs and lots of lovely pastries and fresh bread. We initially had a problem connecting with the wifi in our room, but reception soon sorted that out. However, the safe did not work and we were reassured that crime was not a problem in the region. It took a pleasant 7 minute walk into the old port where all the lovely restaurants are . Loved La Rochelle very much and talking to other tourists, generally the hotels are pretty poor with small rooms and sporadic service, so the Best Western Masghotel gets the thumbs up from us ! We will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and thought it was stunning! Beautifully clean, and quirkily modern. We arrive on the wrong day (eek) but the service was fantastic and we were very grateful to be sorted out for the night we arrived! Location is a walk from the aquarium and te docks and bars and restaurants. Room is a great size with huge bed, tea and coffee facilities and lovely big bathroom with hair dryer and lighted mirror. Couldn't fault it and would stay again thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilgeenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with a very good value pre-pay deal and were delighted with our choice. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful and the room large, modern, clean, quiet and with all the facilities you'd expect from a 4 star hotel (apart from a mini-bar) - the safe and tea/coffee making facilities were very welcome. The large secure underground car park available by pre-booking at €8 a night was excellent, ideal for secure parking of motorcycles. The hotel is an easy walk to the main centre of La Rochelle through quiet streets of offices and apartments. Breakfast consisted of a wide selection including scrambled eggs and bacon but a little pricey at €12 - there is a cafe opposite the nearby rail station if you'd prefer a lighter option of coffee and pastries.

We'd certainly return to the Masqhotel if visiting La Rochelle again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Masqhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Masqhotel

Address: 17 rue de l Ouvrage a Corne, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: $93 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Masqhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Masqhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Masqhotel
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing