We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Masqhotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Beautiful rooms, impeccably clean and excellent, helpful staff.
Very high quality furnishings..I felt totally spoilt and just loved it and can't wait to go back one day !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helene t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 743 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed for five nights and had no complaints whatsoever. The hotel is far enough from the bustle of the main tourist area but still only a short walk away. I can't speak highly enough of the hotel staff, without exception they were very helpful, friendly and seemed genuinely keen to ensure we had a good stay. Breakfasts were excellent and of good quality.

Overall. Highly recommended and good value for money.

Room Tip: Our room on the fourth floor had a mini balcony. Lower floors don't appear to have 'balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlenanneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Great location, quiet at night, staff really welcoming and very helpful. Good value, breakfast €12 but worth it! Rooms very clean and modern.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushdenellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in La Rochelle thanks in no small part to the wonderful staff at the Masq Hotel. The staff was friendly, professional and very helpful. This hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Since we were travelling by train, the location, within walking distance to the train station, was ideal for us. The hotel and the area around it is very quiet with many restaurants and shops also within walking distance. We felt comfortable and secure walking from the hotel to the port and other areas of La Rochelle during the day and at night. We were able to use the free hotel WiFi connection from the lobby and our room. We liked the modern, well lit and open lobby/reception area of the hotel, where we were able to sit comfortably and enjoy a drink at the bar. We were very happy to find this hotel for our stay in La Rochelle and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was so enjoyable that we cancelled our booking at a different hotel to enable us to stay again on our last night of our trip.The quality of service couldn't be faulted- consistently friendly and helpful staff.

Everything was spotlessly clean, the rooms spacious and the bed/bedding just perfect. I am very hard to please but the Masqhotel managed it with ease.My husband tends not to lean towards 'modern', preferring places with 'character' but he was well happy that he let me choose this one.

The breakfast was really lovely- just couldn't be bettered especiaily with the champagne and freshly squeezed orange juice.Beautifully cooked bacon and scrambled eggs plus fresh fruit, range of bread and cakes, choice of meats,cheeses etc - everything anyone could ask for.

Regarding location, my husband reckons it's only a 5 minute walk to the port and old town but as I have mobility difficulties,I would have struggled without a car. Reception are happy to order taxis so cost apart,this need not be an issue. We stayed at a hotel with more 'character', on the Isle de Re on the same trip and paid alot more for a pretty poor experience. The Masqhotel offers great value so stay here if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chester1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have just returned from two nights at the Masq for a meeting we held at the hotel.

We were very happy with our choice. Communication prior to our arrival was very responsive and helpful, and the welcome we received from ALL staff at the hotel was amazing. It really made our stay a real pleasure.

Areas like the bar were very simple, but you are a five minute walk away from the beautiful marina with the most amazing set of bars, cafes and restaurants.

We loved La Rochelle and the hotel made it all so much better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bolchy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

On the plus side, this is a very modern and contemporary hotel - extremely clean and neat. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. It is located within a quite pleasant 10min walk to the port and most of the restaurants and sights. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and varied with both hot and cold food and most importantly, complimentary champagne for breakfast! Wifi connection was free and had great coverage in our room.

For the cons, the hallways within the hotel obviously have some sort of energy saving mechanism which keeps the lights extremely dim until you walk through - at which point they become slightly less dim. If you are vision impaired, good luck. The door in the bathroom is opaque glass and does not seal into a door frame - if you are a private bathroom person, this could be somewhat off-putting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naomi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Masqhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Masqhotel

Address: 17 rue de l Ouvrage a Corne, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: $95 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Masqhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Masqhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Masqhotel
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing