We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really bad hotel if you want to sleep at night” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henri IV Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Henri IV Hotel
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really bad hotel if you want to sleep at night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

It was not possible to sleep at night due to the noise coming from the street outside which went on until 4 am when the dustbin lorries came. The window has to be left open as their is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charisma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    28
    15
    15
See reviews for
19
47
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

POSITIVE: Bed was comfortable, ensuite and the bedroom were clean. Central location excellent, but the narrow, cobbled street was consequently loud and busy at night.

NEGATIVE: I'm used to French two star hotels and their idiosyncrasies, but this was taking the Mickey! We stayed in Room 6, for e95 a night, but the room's only clothes storage was a metal hook on the wall and a coat stand! No wardrobe, no chest of drawers. We literally lived out of a suitcase for four nights. Way too expensive, and the noise from the street, even out of season, meant the window had to stay shut all night. No aircon led to very restless nights. Definitely not good value - we didn't try the breakfast as (a) I didn't want to give the owner any more money and (b) you can get a petit dejeuner on the waterfront for around e5.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6 and ask for room NOT overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericonabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Rochelle hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Only problem was too many stairs but apart from this fine, very pleasant stay. Georges very helpful. Didn't try breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMimiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is in a great location but only accessible on foot with no parking facilities, so you have to park some distance away as all parking in the town is for max 2 hours. Very noisy at night and no air conditioning, so you are forced to either bake or open the window and try to sleep in substantial noise that went on all night to about 4am. Don't come to this hotel if you have children or want to go to bed to sleep before 4am.

Advice for a quieter, more restfulnight: sleep on a bench in the station under the announcers loudspeaker and save the E145 to go shopping or have a good dinner

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daltmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

I am writing this review from the Ibis Hotel, aound the corner from the Henri IV Hotel, after having changed hotels after the first night of a three night stay in La Rochelle. The Henri IV has no air conditioning in its rooms, forcing one to leave the windows open, due to it's very central location there is alot of noise from the town which only made it possible to get to sleep at about 5 in the morning. I checked out after 1 night but was still charged for 3, but have decided it is still worth moving to another hotel. This was the level of my discomfort at the Henri IV.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigNickKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

This hotel is rated 2 stars. The rooms very simply designed, but very clean and comfortable.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. They assisted us with all the information and arrangements that we needed for our stay. The hotel is directly in the center of the old port, about 20 meters (65ft) from the harbour.
It is also about 20 meters (65ft) from the Hotel de Ville (town hall).

It takes about 15 minutes to get to the train station by foot from this hotel, and about 6EUR in a taxi (this is the minimum fair for any journey).

It is in a outstanding location, walking distance to almost everything that you would like to see in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jackdripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

The hotel is in a good position (especially if you are not travelling by car). It's well maintained and clean. We paid 71.50 Euros which is probably higher that I would expect but average by La Rochelle standards.
There is some noise and night and I didn't like the fact that we were asked to pay at check-in. Otherwise it was fine.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Paying at check-in
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Tour de Nesle
Hotel de la Tour de Nesle
#46 of 48 in La Rochelle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bord'O
Hotel Le Bord'O
#33 of 48 in La Rochelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Un Hotel en Ville
Un Hotel en Ville
#11 of 48 in La Rochelle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#28 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#22 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henri IV Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henri IV Hotel

Property: Henri IV Hotel
Address: 31 rue des Gentilshommes, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Henri IV Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Henri IV Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henri Iv La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing