We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic yet nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Centre
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basic yet nice”
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The Maeva is in a good, quiet location. It is no more than 5 minutes walk to the station and about 10-15 minutes along the harbour quayside from the centre of town.

The Maeva is an apartment complex rather than a hotel although you can buy breakfast in the cafe beside reception. We did not have to pay extra for towels, bedding, tv or the end of stay cleaning.

The room was a bit small for 3 people but still adequate. There are bunk beds in the entrance area, a small bathroom, a separate toilet and a kitchenette/lounge/bedroom with a sofa bed in it. We also had a balcony which was nice.

The kitchenette area was well equipped with cooker, microwave, fridge and even a dishwasher. No air con in the room though!

There is a nice covered swimming pool which is a good size although there were a lot of flies in the water.

The staff on the reception were polite & helpful. If you are on a short break you can check in from 1100 & don't have to check out until 1700 which is very handy.

La Rochelle itself is a very quaint seaside town with lots of good restaurants & a couple of nice beaches. Well worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gazcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    371
    175
    80
    44
See reviews for
411
233
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Maybe this IS Ok for a hen weekend but be sure you know what you are booking.
We arrived at reception,a charmingly efficient lady,and were asked whether we wanted towels. Why?.Because they are extra,8 euros per person.
First time ever I have been asked to pay for towels in a hotel.
Receptionist told us 'This is not a hotel'
Same conversation re TV.
Room has bunk beds and sofa bed.Thats it.
Location is fine,near enough to old port bars and restaurants.
Maybe I chose wrong but I suggest you know exactly what this place provides before you book.
We checked out after one night!

  • Liked — Efficient reception
  • Disliked — Where to start?
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RedTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Surf PR- Replying on behalf of PV-Holidays. at Pierre & Vacances Residence Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2008
Thank you very much for your helpful posting on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the PV-Holidays Residence Maeva Centre. We are extremely sorry that your stay with us was not up to our usual high standards. This is a very rare occurrence, in one of our most popular locations. The local manager has investigated the events that gave rise to your comments. In addition to ensuring that all rooms are spotlessly clean for new guests, it is our policy to check that all facilities work correctly. We apologise that, in this instance, the situation was not resolved to your satisfaction.

All of our staff receive comprehensive customer service training, and they take pride in keeping all our customers, who come from all over the world, happy. Many thanks for taking the time to register your complaint. We monitor all customer feedback to help us provide the best service possible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Rochelle hotels

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I had the task of finding a cheap weekend away for 10 women (aged 23-58) for under £130 each so I was struggling a bit until I came across some cheap flights to La Rochelle. I found the hostel on Expedia, which was perfect as we could house all 10 guests easily within budget (we even managed to get 4 rooms instead of 3),

The pictures of the room on Expedia weren't promising, and I'd warned everyone not to expect any comfort and luxury, so it was a lovely surprise to find spacious, clean and modern rooms, with cooking facilities and nice views! Each room had a double sofa bed and bunk beds which were enormous. Both nights, we managed to comfortably house all ten of us in the lounge for pre-dinner drinks,

The pool was lovely, the facilities were great and the only problems really are the selected opening hours at reception, which could be a bother if your arrival time will not correspond with them, and the horrifically creaky lift, which lead to some quite harsh accusations of snoring amongst the party until the truth was discovered!

The location is perfect for the harbour, bars, markets and restaurants. We got to try out our French quite a lot, as not many people speak English, but we enjoyed this immensely! We were also lucky enough to be there for Le Grand Pavois, the international boat show, which culminated in an amazing pyrotechnic and firework display over the harbour.

At night, there were some unsavoury characters on the streets and in the dubious nightclub we ended up in, but all in all we had a perfect time and could've done with a few more days!

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Creaky lift!
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2005

Studio apartments rather than a hotel although does serve breakfast. Great location, near railway station, just off harbour front, minutes walk to old port and easy walking distance to old town, restaurants etc. Excellent for families as each studio has a kitchenette, cooker fridge, microwave and there is a covered swimming pool, very unusual in the centre of town. There are also laundry facilities. The studios consist of a living room with kitchenette; this room has a double sofa bed. There is also an entrance room with bunk beds and a separate bathroom and toilet. Each apartment has a balcony. It would be a bit cramped for a week long stay if there were four people but ideal for a short break, we stayed two nights with three people in each studio and it was better than many hotels. The studios looked as though they had just been refurbished and were good value in such a central location. There is a parking garage although it was full, but there is a car park just around the corner and parking is very cheap - about 4 euro for 24 hours. I booked via expedia.

Helpful?
26 Thank Analivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
#11 of 49 in La Rochelle
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Appart'hotel Odalys Archipel
Appart'hotel Odalys Archipel
#30 of 49 in La Rochelle
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#7 of 49 in La Rochelle
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#16 of 49 in La Rochelle
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Centre

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Centre
Address: 14 quai de Marans, 17000, La Rochelle, France (Formerly Residence Maeva )
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sporty and dynamic town City centre residence, near the old harbour, the station and the beach Swimming pool with cover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Maeva Centre Hotel La Rochelle
Pv Holidays Residence Maeva Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing