We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but simply that OK”
Review of Cafe du Nord

Cafe du Nord
Ranked #398 of 604 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 27, 2018

You get stuffed into a table, harried waiters who ignore you until it is your turn the smile fake at you, nice view, very average food. You going there for the location, convenience and acceptable food.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 338 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2018

We were uncertain where to eat but after a long day's drive relaxed and had dinner here with wine and were happy with this café. The friendly and helpful waitress even offered to get a bowl of water for our little dog, much appreciated. We sat outside and enjoyed the view and good weather in October, looking onto the quay. Food was unpretentious, bistrot food and good value as well as enjoyable. A very pleasant visit with no draw backs.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Family of 5, on a wander around La Rochelle needed dinner early evening (6.30pm). We had pizzas and ice cream.

Friendly enough staff, but a bit slow and disinterested/busy.

So overall not amazing, certainly not bad

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank AnnaE689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We sat down and exchanged friendly comments with one of the waiters. Then we waited and waited and waited, unable to attract the attention of any of the many waiters. Eventually, after much arm-waving, we were able to order drinks, which failed to arrive until well after the food. Getting menus was the next challenge. When, finally, the bearded waiter came to take our order, he was gruff, constantly interrupting and belligerent. The food arrived, startlingly quickly, by which time we were so disappointed that, when the head waiter, Laurent, asked us in passing, if everything was OK, we said no, and tried to explain why, in a civilised manner. He interrupted us constantly, then raised his voice in front of our children, and told us if we didn't like we should be off down the road, as he put it. Then he turned his back on us and walked away. I was so angry at his rudeness that I followed him into the restaurant, and obliged him to listen. He was unrelenting and unpleasant. The one redeeming feature was a young waiter who was embarrassed on behalf of the restaurant, and apologised, saying that we had not deserved such treatment. He was a very sweet guy, and even refused a tip when offered. We suggested that he got work elsewhere where he might be appreciated.
We hope that out of solidarity you will avoid this restaurant, and if the owner reads this we hope s/he realises a very quick and easy way to improve his /her business.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julianmesling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here - the restaurants here appearing to be all much the same. We both chose Mussels, and when the food came the portions were decent and the mussels pretty good!
The service wasn't the best, but it was ok and the whole of La Rochelle was very busy, so maybe that is why...

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesy823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Nord also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Cafe du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing