We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, convenient and food ok”
Review of Cafe du Nord

Cafe du Nord
Ranked #396 of 606 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Family of 5, on a wander around La Rochelle needed dinner early evening (6.30pm). We had pizzas and ice cream.

Friendly enough staff, but a bit slow and disinterested/busy.

So overall not amazing, certainly not bad

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank AnnaE689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2017

We sat down and exchanged friendly comments with one of the waiters. Then we waited and waited and waited, unable to attract the attention of any of the many waiters. Eventually, after much arm-waving, we were able to order drinks, which failed to arrive until well after the food. Getting menus was the next challenge. When, finally, the bearded waiter came to take our order, he was gruff, constantly interrupting and belligerent. The food arrived, startlingly quickly, by which time we were so disappointed that, when the head waiter, Laurent, asked us in passing, if everything was OK, we said no, and tried to explain why, in a civilised manner. He interrupted us constantly, then raised his voice in front of our children, and told us if we didn't like we should be off down the road, as he put it. Then he turned his back on us and walked away. I was so angry at his rudeness that I followed him into the restaurant, and obliged him to listen. He was unrelenting and unpleasant. The one redeeming feature was a young waiter who was embarrassed on behalf of the restaurant, and apologised, saying that we had not deserved such treatment. He was a very sweet guy, and even refused a tip when offered. We suggested that he got work elsewhere where he might be appreciated.
We hope that out of solidarity you will avoid this restaurant, and if the owner reads this we hope s/he realises a very quick and easy way to improve his /her business.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julianmesling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here - the restaurants here appearing to be all much the same. We both chose Mussels, and when the food came the portions were decent and the mussels pretty good!
The service wasn't the best, but it was ok and the whole of La Rochelle was very busy, so maybe that is why...

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesy823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

To be honest we (4 adults) chose this restaurant because a cold wind had got up and we wanted to find a place with some shelter in which to eat; and foolishly assuming that all the brasseries on the quay would offer much the same quality we plumped for this one.

What a mistake. The complet crepe was indeed generous but cold and the batter way too thick so chewy. The steaks were minuscule and tough with gristle and my pizza was missing the olives for which I had chosen it and the tomato sauce was tomato paste from a tube which hadn't been cooked down so tasted metallic. As another reviewer remarked the wine, Sancerre, was very good but not cheap but proved the best part of the meal.
And although the service we received was reasonable, (indeed the food arrived worryingly quickly), an elderly couple next to us had to remind the waiter about their wine order 4 times and had finished their mains by the time it arrived. And whilst we could not follow the whole conversation they were clearly being told off for moving tables (out of the wind) when the restaurant was not full and encouraged to leave asap.
We were too disheartened to complain and given the head waiter's aggressive attitude slightly intimidated to as well....but will never eat there again. La Rochelle offers a huge range of excellent restaurants at all prices. Choose another.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BumbleSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Crepes, a bottle of rose wine, a scenic and quiet-ish quayside location,good service and time to linger. This restaurant delivered that for us and I'm really quite pleased that we decided to lunch on the quieter side of the Old Port and fell on this place.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeremyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Nord also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Cafe du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing