We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Top Choice”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very pleased to have chosen this hotel. Absolutely perfect position for the best restaurants, the town centre & harbour, and the beach. Room was fine and clean, service was also very good. Perhaps not as pristine as one might expect for a four star but still our choice for another visit and nicely quiet. Breakfasts were good and overall a very pleasant visit so very ideally placed on the doorstep of La Rochelle’s finest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    229
    78
    25
    6
See reviews for
68
374
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oaksey
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Having spent a week in La Rochelle last September, we decided to spend four nights at La Monnaie to celebrate my wife's birthday. I booked on line several weeks ago and received a confirmed booking only to be told a few days later that they couldn't accommodate us. After protesting, the matter was sorted and I have to say, they were very polite and professional in their communications !

Arriving at the hotel on Saturday afternoon, we were Greeted in an efficient and very friendly manner and shown to our room. What a bitter disappointment ! I think the previous reviewers comments summed it up well, style over function, although personally my wife and I would disagree on style, it hasn't got any ! Horrible bland depressing decor of black, grey and white ! White Formica backing to bed, a plastic stool, no wardrobe, just a few hanging hangers on rails and three white plastic shelves to store your clothes on. A tiny safe, that wasn't secured, a fridge with only three bottles in it and one bottle of water in the room ( which wasn't replaced in four days ) the bathroom was very small and smelt musty. No towel rails and a tiny bar of soap. Shower had a suspended plastic soap dispenser, usually found in cheap chain hotels. Our window overlooked the tiny garden and car park. On opening the window, payout are immediately hit by the overwhelming stench of cat pee from the garden below ! Awful. Something else worth mentioning is how dreary and oppressive the corridors are. Again, the previous reviewer compared the experience similar to being in a ghost train. This is true, it's only a shame that there weren't any ghosts present to liven the place up a bit !

Now to downstairs. The reception area is actually rather pleasant, with six very modern electric blue seats and a good variety of reading material. There is a very small section that serves as a bar !! You have to check this out, because it's not immediately evident it's a bar at all ! Weird. A door leads out to what could be a beautiful courtyard. again all the furniture is hard plastic, no cushions and the seating is incredibly uncomfortable. There are little square cube tables which have angled surfaces, so you can't even rest a drink on top without being concerned it will spill. From the courtyard, you go into another so called lounge area with doors leading to the tiny grass area which accommodates three hard plastic sun loungers. Really uncomfortable. Why would the hotel owners think anyone would want to relax there ? Again, obviously the local cat population use the garden as the communal loo, the smell is horrible . Can't comment on the spa, because it's in the dark basement behind locked doors. Previous reviewers adequately describe how poor it is.

This hotel could be so much better, it's a real shame, because it's in a very good quiet location and the staff are very nice. Please be aware that it is not four star by any stretch of the imagination. Three star at best. It's also way over priced. Wouldn't recommend, plenty of other choices in La Rochelle that offer better facilities and value. If however you like IKEA type furnishings and minimalism, this could be for you !

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank joneseyoaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Looks great from the outside. Rooms are really form over function, wardrobes consist of shelves in the main bedroom with no doors. Bathroom really cramped for 2 agile , thin people. Shower floor consisted of a perforated sheet of stainless which was obviously difficult to hygiene hence fusty smell.No toiletries in bathroom apart from a small bar of soap and a bottle of shower gel / shampoo fixed to the shower wall, the sort of thing I would expect in a travel lodge. Despite being expensive, we were only given one 500ml bottle of water during our 3 day stay. We were given two Toblerones ( sweet size) on the first evening , nothing on subsequent evenings. No tea making facilities, no iron. Lighting in corridors operated by movement sensors, a bit like being on a ghost train with the undulating floors, we had a competition to see how far we could run up the pitch black corridor before they came on. Staff were great, very friendly with exceptional english. Breakfasts OK although expensive , strange arrangement where baskets of bread are removed before they are empty, leaving the breakfast room bread less until the person comes back with the full basket, would have been easier to bring the full basket and then take the partly empty one back allowing people to continue serving themselves ?? Beds very comfy. Car parking an extra, getting into and out of the underground car park not for the faint hearted or range rover drivers !!
Too minimalistic for its own good and a victim of form over function.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeus_Faber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
608 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a suite on the back of this boutique hotel with two rooms and a living. All well decorated in a contemporary way with nice colors and design. The beds were very good (although the pillows were a bit too small for us !!). We arrived earlier than anticipated and we got access to the room immediately, the personnel helped us to get our luggage to the room and we parked the car in the courtyard behind the hotel. This hotel is directly located near the best restaurants and best sites of the typical La Rochelle harbour and we didn't use our car during all our stay as everything was very conveniently reachable.
Excellent experience that we considere exceptional as we are very often disappointed when we compare what is said and what we see when we arrive. The prices are realistic and correct.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite, they are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We typically spend holidays in 'chain' hotels, Hyatt, Four Seasons, Jumeirah etc.. because of the 'minimum level of service and guarantee that it represents'. I do realise that you sometimes miss the authenticity of a family owned business and how much value this can add when it is well run. This was typically the case of La Monnair Art & Spa.

The hotel is absolutely splendid. Beautiful decor, trendy and tasteful yet very warm. The photos on the website are very accurate representations of the hotel. we had the beautiful suite 106. Hotel is impeccably clean, but it the service and the warmth of the staff that makes a difference. They couldn't be more friendly or helpful. In the end, its the type of atmosphere where you feel just right, comfortable and at home.

Breakfast was very good and we didn't try the room service.

The Spa concept is original yet different. I liked the privacy concept. Certainly worth it as a couple as you can have a massage table each.

We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location, beautiful old building and trendy art, very friendly staff. As several reviewers have pointed out, rooms are smallish and don't offer much by way of storage, which is OK for a short stay. Avoid rooms over the street as it gets a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking onto street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A beautiful old building in the old harbor on the quiet street makes this hotel a candidate for a good stay? Well, maybe. Very bright and modern furnishings in the room, but not very practical. Limited storage, even for a short stay. Quite small but very comfortable bed. Small bathroom. Good breakfast but quite expensive. Excellent staff. Public parking nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Brises
Hotel Les Brises
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel

Property: La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
Address: 3 rue de la Monnaie, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 17th century building has been given a current makeover with decor that is audacious and livelyThe hallways, lounges and 36 rooms and suites offer a warm and modern luxury atmosphere. Very high quality bedding in the rooms with Garden or patio view, a hearty buffet breakfast mostly with local products.The private spa offers an infinity jacuzzi, sauna, and water jets massage tables.La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel is located in the historic town center of La Rochelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Monnaie Art And Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art Hotel La Rochelle
De La Monnaie Hotel
Hotel De La Monnaie
De La Monnaie Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing