We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go elsewhere....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence de France
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Go elsewhere....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

First impressions fairly good. Staff seemed helpful, bar area and lounge lovely, pool area as described by others tiny. Room just about ok, scruffy inside and dated. However we had a major problem with our room (plumbing issue) and whilst we moved rooms which was very annoying and inconvenient no one apologised, asked us if the new room was ok. Even at checkout staff were completely clueless on how to deal with our complaint (including management) There were lots of down and outs hanging about outside the hotel which made leaving and returning to hotel unpleasant. Far nicer hotels elsewhere in La Rochelle to stay....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinglefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    128
    65
    38
    21
See reviews for
96
160
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is located in a lovely central part of la Rochelle - just off Rue Chaudrier which runs down to the port - shopping heaven for those inclined - with a refined mix of cosmopolitan culture and French chic on display from beautiful retained architecture, French café frontages, to an eclectic mix of local circumstances. The streets are meticulously tidy, there are not only doggy bins, but doggy bags on a roll above! There are also signs of current economics with quite a few homeless folk, but seemingly little ill feeling between those with and those without.

The restaurants are broadly split between value focussed enterprises along the yacht marina front, and the mostly high quality restaurants up the pedestrianised Cours des Dames. Around £25 per for a three course dinner plus drinks - wine is reasonable, watch out for aperitifs. We had four dinners between three restaurants, sitting outside watching life and enjoyed every meal.

The hotel is a smartly presented - almost boutique style on entrance. We stayed in one of two 'apartments' with a terrace overlooking the (tiny) pool, meaning we could catch a little early evening sun and enjoy a nightcap outside when returning from dinner. There is a bedroom with a double bed, a lounge area with a bed/sofa, and a fridge. Generally nicely furnished, but with a few issues - not 5*. The double bed is tiny. There is no proper shower, but a bath with a showerhead - no curtain. The bar closes at 11pm - and I've had better breakfasts in France than this at a fairly steep £14 per person (our thirteen year old daughter loved it..). Front of house is friendly and helpful, and service OK. If you have a car you must book a space at the hotel as there is no other option nearby.

Notwithstanding the above, if you want a nice hotel in good location with facilities for a small family, in a lovely part of France, this is a good option.

Room Tip: The hotel description on their website don't properly explain the apartment set up. There are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CraigSally_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked fairly last minute. La Rochelle lovely, plenty of restaurants. Impressive from outside hotel and reception rooms. Our room was classed as apartment, which I thought would give us more space. Room was of 2* quality if that. Has tiny hotplate and a sink so probably useful if you have children with you (though you could not have children as room too small). Hotel has a 'pool' though think of a plunge pool and you'll get the idea of size.
Thought this was a 5* hotel but although classified as such, I would not consider staying in this hotel again - do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't get an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieblinkert85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Best hotel I have ever stayed, great service outstanding food its a must visit, Rooma äre Clean and tidy. Sourandings very nice.......................................................... Yes this is my first time at Thea have teated me like a king

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Wanted a short break for my husband and I and two older kids (17 and 18). Ticked all the boxes. Very clean, great base for the area and plenty of restaurants as well as beaches and sightseeing opportunities. Boat trip good, wheel lovely. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thecatfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked well in advance to take my family to La Rochelle for an August break. I booked a twin, for the teenage girls and a double for my wife and I. I requested the rooms be close to each other. We were separated to the 1st and 4th floor with "no other vacancies available" so were stuck with it. The room was small with an ancient electric hob, no kettle or microwave even though they classed it as a "studio". The kids room ironically had both a kettle and microwave that was obviously of no use to them. The rooms had no air-conditioning which makes for a sweltering environment in August. They did supply a fan though and mentioned the breeze in the port town! The room itself was very tired and quite grubby. Our room on the first floor overlooked the pool and seating area which some might think is good. However, it made it difficult to open the windows if you didn't want to hear screaming and yelling of those in the pool and sometimes those just siting under our window. A further insult was to be charged 10 Euros at the bar for a coke and Lemonade. I'm pretty sure there's better value for money and comfort that could be had at La Rochelle for the money we paid. I may be tempted to return to the town but definitely not back to this hotel. Finally, beware of the airport taxi's. I was charged 25 Euros to get from the airport (about 4.5 miles) but it only cost 15 Euros to return from a local taxi firm.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliffna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Rochelle hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the suite 34 in the "hotel 5 stars" building (the old one).

I will start the negative points if you don't mind.
It has nothing of a 5 stars hotel standards.
No air conditioning, 1 velux in our bedroom but it has been closed with screws as the window was apparently broken.
In the children room, 1 of the 2 velux window was not closing properly.. Quite noisy in the night.
We asked for a baby bed. But we never received any mattress. In the end we took the one we had in our car.
Painting on the wall would need some refresh.
Not book neither in the Room to explain the rules, give some indication nor giving details about the room service options.
6long chairs around the swimming pool for a bit less than 60 bedrooms seems strange!
You are suppose to be in the 5 starts part (and you pay for it) but you have nothing more nor included in the price than the one staying in the studios. Small swimming pool is for everybody, you have to pay your parking place, your breakfast..
What's the point?

But we loved the shared spaces as the lobby and the room with the piano. Really simple and beautiful decoration.
The situation in the market area is really nice and the persons working at the reception and the bar are friendly!

As conclusion I would say that you shouldn't expect a 5 stars service but that the place is nice. Maybe better to pay less and to stay in the residence part. I would recommend it to friends on that way.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank thepinktouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#5 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
0.4 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#14 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#18 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence de France

Property: Residence de France
Address: 43 Rue du Minage, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence de France 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel in the historical town center of La Rochelle. RESIDENCE DE FRANCE offers 54 rooms and suites classified 5-stars. On site, you will get : full hotel service both for hotel, 24/24 welcome desk, parking, bar with meal offers, garden, heated swimming-pool, lounge with piano and library, free Wi-Fi in both rooms and lounge, buffet breakfast, meeting rooms etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De France Hotel La Rochelle
Residence De France La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing