We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence de France
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good 4* hotel”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We booked this hotel as a treat for the final two nights of our backpacking trip around France as it was a little more expensive than the other places we had stayed so far. The location is about a 10min walk from the harbour area, 3mins from the bus stops where you can get a bus to the airport, and about a 20min walk from the train station. We had a 1 bed roomed suite for 3 of us (a queen size double and a single sofabed) which was reasonably sized for European standards. Although the rooms are lovely, we all commented on the lack of a shower as there was only a bathtub with a hand held shower - not ideal for speed. The reception staff were lovely; upon arrival we were informed our room was not ready but if we would like to have a drink in the lounge whilst they made it ready for us. They were very helpful in providing a map of the area and advice on where to find good cafes/restaurants/shops. The pool area is absolutely tiny with only a few sun loungers so if this is an important part of your holiday I'd stay elsewhere. If like us you prefer the beach then it shouldnt be a problem. It is quite an expensive hotel however if you are happy to spend a little more I feel it is worth it. My only complaint would be the lack of air conditioning - we stayed in hotels that cost 1/5th of the price of staying here that had air con so I think they should invest!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londongirlabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    141
    71
    39
    21
See reviews for
105
175
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

La Rochelle is amazing and the hotel location is perfect, but ...... I cannot abide by 120 euro for a room with peeling paint everywhere and a bed made for babies with springs that practically paralyzed me in the morning .

This place has soooo much potential. The courtyard, lobby and use of public space is gorgeous. Now if they could just focus on the rooms the guests actually use the most.

Now, we stayed in the residence part of the hotel which really feels like motel six but I asked them to show me a room in the adjacent newly remodeled 4 star hotel....it was nice but not with the extra 60... And it had the same hooooooorible bed!

Oh well, I will definitely be back in la Rochelle but will look for better accomodations

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGortiz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Rochelle hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

La Residence de France certainly exceeded my expectations in terms of size of room and bathroom, onsite parking, beautiful art gallery within it, nice little pool oasis, and the location was ideal. It is rated as 4 star which may be pushing it a little in terms of amenities (lucky I brought my own hair blower), but it's definitely a 3+. I'd stay there again and recommend it to friends. La Rochelle is a fabulous place to visit - the historical aspect, restaurants, shopping and great marche (open on Sunday!!) are 5 star. It has a nice beach too. I'd like to go back soon but hesitate to go in summer because I'm sure the streets would be unbearably crowded.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Lovely hotel, very relaxing stay. Great location in La Rochelle - lovely town with great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Apart from some of staff on reception lovely hotel, with a lovely art gallery inside great value for money didn't expect the amount of space we had been given for the value for money !
Quite hard to find, but worth it once you are there!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katpish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here by chance.

Booked a studio apartment ( Dbl bed and kitchenette) ay 80 Euro.

The rooms are nothing special but the public parts of the hotel are great, and the level of service is par excellence.
Everything is spolessly clean, and the staff rerally are excellent.

And here's a tip for every hotel in the world: the WIFI is Free, and available in every room irrespective of price.

It lacks a restaurant, but there are plenty nearby.
It does breakfast from Euro 15 a day.

Excellent location.
5 mins from old harbour
1 min from coach depot
10 mins from railway station
3 mins from park

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Hotel was selected by colleagues here on business. Hotel is extremely hard to find with only a small sign with markings hidden under an overhang. Large gate for the entrance to the courtyard and garage is always closed and has no markings. I stayed in one of the front rooms in the smaller building (not the apartment style rooms). The room was large and very clean and quiet and overlooked the courtyard. The wi-fi in the room was low signal and would come and go. I found I had to switch channels to get a stronger signal (1-2 bars max). As others noted, the TV is all French channels. My room had a bathtub only (very narrow) with a shower head on a hose. I guess the intent was to take a bath and shower off somehow but it made a big mess in the bathroom as there is no shower curtain. I was told laundry was OK for Monday but when I brought it down, they said "not today" maybe Tuesday. Tuesday worked and returned the same day (very good). Hotel lounge/bar is staffed sometimes with no indication of when its open or closed. Room service food was very good but when you asked for room service, you got the impression that it may or may not be available (they always had to check with someone to see if it could happen). Pool is really small and outdoors (didn't plan to use it). A nice walk to waterfront but pretty far (maybe 1/2 mile). Garage is VERY VERY tight and underground. I guess if you came on Holiday to relax and get away, it would be OK. The desk staff was nice but spoke mostly French (I didn't expect all English and am not judging) just wanted to note there might be some trouble with communication. Overall, an OK experience - would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMinNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.4 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#18 of 49 in La Rochelle
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
0.6 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence de France

Property: Residence de France
Address: 43 Rue du Minage, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence de France 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel in the historical town center of La Rochelle. RESIDENCE DE FRANCE offers 54 rooms and suites classified 5-stars. On site, you will get : full hotel service both for hotel, 24/24 welcome desk, parking, bar with meal offers, garden, heated swimming-pool, lounge with piano and library, free Wi-Fi in both rooms and lounge, buffet breakfast, meeting rooms etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De France Hotel La Rochelle
Residence De France La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing