We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in La Rochelle”
Review of L'Amaranthe

L'Amaranthe
Ranked #18 of 606 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Discovered this charming restaurant during our recent stay in La Rochelle. The menu is small (suits us) and service spot on. The young woman serving went out of her way to make us welcome, working on her own and providing everything without the need to ask. Food was great, beautifully presented dishes of local, organic produce and local wine. We went for three evenings, different menu on every evening. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 902 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2018

This restaurant is situated in a pedestrian street set back from the main harbour.We were lucky with the weather and able to eat alfresco. The food was very good with a sea food salad as a starter followed by a very tasty veal dish. Service was reasonable and a good wine list gave plenty of choice.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank johnandbobbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

We booked this restaurant based on reviews and were not disappointed. The food was excellent. A good wine list supported a great meal. The weather wasn’t great so there was not a lot of people there and the atmosphere was zero not helped by awful mortuary music in the background. But hose things aside the food made the visit a hit with us

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

A great find, small restaurant hidden on a side street but definitely worth seeking out if you are in La Rochelle. A daily changing menu with 2 main courses to choose from, they definitely know how to cook great food!
The owner serves the tables herself but manages to provide great efficient service.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daveywjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This was our favourite restaurant in La Rochelle 2 years ago so we made sure we returned this year and ate here 3 times during our 6 day stay. We were so not disappointed. So many good things to say about the food including great cod dish, veal superb, great duck dish, lovely lamb. Lovely starters included lamb, tuna, salmon, beef raviolis. Great touches like amuse bouche, friendly service and good wine selection. This place has never disappointed us and easily maintained it's number 1 position in our ratings. Overall fine dining but not expensive prices.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fredmaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Amaranthe also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to L'Amaranthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing