We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent innovative cooking highly recommended”
Review of Le Thiers Temps

Le Thiers Temps
Ranked #19 of 599 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We booked for an evening meal after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were not disappointed the cuisine was excellent and away from the hussle and bussle of the very touristy sea front cafes and restaurants. There was an option of dining outside on the street, however we selected to dine inside to avoid second hand smoke.
We enjoyed the 31€ three course meal, with the choice of three entrees, three mains and four deserts. We selected a very nice bottle of local Sauvignon, at 29€. We started with a complimentary and tasty amuse boucher. For entree I loved my zucchini type soup beautifully presented with coriander, terrine and goats cheese on the side of the plate. Av enjoyed her tuna with thai inspired salad.
We both ordered the filet of sea bream with vegetables again delightful presentation very tasty just delicious. The desert was again a taste bud extravaganza.
The service was excellent. Overall a highly recommended restaurant with very innovative cuisine at a very reasonable.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 623 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2018

We dined here one evening while on holiday in La Rochelle. We had looked online at the menus and reviews for several local restaurants, and felt that Le Thiers Temps looked the most enticing. We were not disappointed! The restaurant is small and intimate, with a few tables on the street (a stone's throw from the covered market) and run by a skilled and dedicated young couple. The short menu uses good, fresh local ingredients and is marked by great skill in matching flavours and in cooking, as well as in attention to detail and presentation. We thought the fixed-price menu, at Euros 31 including service, very good value. The wine list includes some good and reasonably priced bottles. We got chatting to a guy at the next-door table, who said that in his view Le Thiers Temps was the unacknowledged gem of La Rochelle. Of course, this may have just been local boosterism, but he seemed to mean it; and on the basis of our experience he could well be right!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

When you do not expect how the food will taste like but you feel adventurous, this is the place to go. Wait staff very helpful and courteous. Gave us aperitif of cold soup with mint, nice touch. Had the salmon croquettes, veal, and white fish which according to our waiter is like "sole". Dishes cooked wonderfully and we topped it off with pina colada ice cream dessert. The place is small with a few tables, when we entered, they asked if we had reservations. We did not but we came in early, so they seated us. Later, all the tables were taken except for the ones outside.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank uberkyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

This small restaurant offered up a interesting menu of 3 staters 3 mains & 3 deserts for €31 .the menu changes regular all dishes were well presented.wine at €18 was of a Good standard .sevice was attentive but not over powering.
highly recommended

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

We went in here, for given the menu, there were only 2 other tables in. As it's small and empty it was really lacking in atmosphere.
After 15 minutes or so and no order taken we decided to leave and try somewhere else.
We did not even get acknowledged on the way out. I'm not sure why there was no service with 2 staff on only looking after 3 tables!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Train2Feast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Thiers Temps also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Thiers Temps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing