We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and delightful”
Review of Le Thiers Temps

Le Thiers Temps
Ranked #18 of 599 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We dined here one evening while on holiday in La Rochelle. We had looked online at the menus and reviews for several local restaurants, and felt that Le Thiers Temps looked the most enticing. We were not disappointed! The restaurant is small and intimate, with a few tables on the street (a stone's throw from the covered market) and run by a skilled and dedicated young couple. The short menu uses good, fresh local ingredients and is marked by great skill in matching flavours and in cooking, as well as in attention to detail and presentation. We thought the fixed-price menu, at Euros 31 including service, very good value. The wine list includes some good and reasonably priced bottles. We got chatting to a guy at the next-door table, who said that in his view Le Thiers Temps was the unacknowledged gem of La Rochelle. Of course, this may have just been local boosterism, but he seemed to mean it; and on the basis of our experience he could well be right!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 623 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2018

When you do not expect how the food will taste like but you feel adventurous, this is the place to go. Wait staff very helpful and courteous. Gave us aperitif of cold soup with mint, nice touch. Had the salmon croquettes, veal, and white fish which according to our waiter is like "sole". Dishes cooked wonderfully and we topped it off with pina colada ice cream dessert. The place is small with a few tables, when we entered, they asked if we had reservations. We did not but we came in early, so they seated us. Later, all the tables were taken except for the ones outside.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank uberkyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

This small restaurant offered up a interesting menu of 3 staters 3 mains & 3 deserts for €31 .the menu changes regular all dishes were well presented.wine at €18 was of a Good standard .sevice was attentive but not over powering.
highly recommended

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

We went in here, for given the menu, there were only 2 other tables in. As it's small and empty it was really lacking in atmosphere.
After 15 minutes or so and no order taken we decided to leave and try somewhere else.
We did not even get acknowledged on the way out. I'm not sure why there was no service with 2 staff on only looking after 3 tables!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Train2Feast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

Our French hosts recommend this place and we weren't disappointed. Although we hadn't booked, we were lucky to get a table on the small terrace outside for lunch on Thursday. It was in the shade and nice and cool on a hot sunny day in June. We had the days 'menu creatif' which was just 18.50 for 3 courses - starter of courgette gespatcho with Parmesan and chorizo followed by lamb shoulder with vegetables which was very tasty and finished with chocolate fondant which wasn't gooey but was yummy. My partner chose from the carte which was 31 for 3 courses. He had lentils with foie gras pate to start, pork loin with vegetables as main and cafe gormande for desert (which he was disappointed with) Overall excellent quality of food and good service. Much better than some of the busier restaurants at the harbour.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Carolyndawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Thiers Temps also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Thiers Temps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing