We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed! A superb meal.”
Review of La Petite Auberge

La Petite Auberge
Ranked #35 of 527 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reading, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not to be missed! A superb meal.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to La Petite Auberge on the first evening of our long weekend in La Rochelle. We chose the restaurant on the basis of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. We were definitely not disappointed. We arrived early, whch was just as well as we hadn't booked and I would certainly advise booking a table in order not to be disappointed. The welcome was really friendly and we were immediately made to feel like regulars, not just tourists. In fact, from what I saw of the clientele, the restaurant attracts as many locals as it does visitors, both French and other nationalities. The menu was excellent: great choice, imaginative and a little bit 'different' without being absurd. It was good value for money as well. Service was prompt and, even though the restaurant was busy, our waitress was happy to stop for a moment to chat about the restaurant and the menu. The food was delicious: I had the most beautifully fresh piece of cod which was succulent and cooked to perfection. We must also recommend very highly the foie gras ice cream, which comes as part of a starter. All in all, we were very tempted to eat here on every night of our visit (unfortunately the restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings) and, in retrospect, I wish that we had!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank panicdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    264
    70
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a great dinner here. Lovely atmosphere, good service. The oysters were a real stand out and the fixed priced menu is good value as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NarraGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had read the good reviews online and did not want to fall into a tourist trap in La Rochelle, La Petite Auberge did not disappoint. Great food with excellent combinations, nicely presented and good service. Definitely recommend the cuttlefish starter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonia1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Delicious”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i went to this little resturant end of September (25/09/12). I had read good reports, and the menu looked good. We were not disappointed. We had a three course meal, all top notch stuff, good quality ingredients, well presented, well cooked and with flavours well put together. The wine we chose was excellent and well chilled. It was open to see straight into the kitchen where the staff were buzy chopping, frying etc. The staff were efficient and good, the service excellent without being smarmy. The three course meal was e29.00 which was well worth it. It was fantastic and ive even come away with flavour combination ideas to try at home, which for me is an real bonus. There are a lot of resturants in this street and we tried another couple and this was deffinately the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Over promises and underdelivers, makes unforgivable mistakes in basic areas.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Food fundamentally disappointing and in not that critical. Monkfish undercooked and did not go with the bitterness of the orange slices - together with bacon, hardly anything on plate, one tiny cold accompaniment - cost 22 euros. My 'cooked' Camembert dessert (8 euros) was cold and pastry hard. My mum's lamb undercooked and jus had grit in it, had little flavour and was thin. Her sorbet was strangely accompanied by squirty cream. Both main meals came without greens.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Auberge also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to La Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing