We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”

L'Ardoise des Cloutiers
Ranked #49 of 581 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

We were there by suggestion of locals. Good service, amazing food. There are only 4 main courses on menu, we tried pork and it was soooo good, almost like made by my grandmother.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Normunds_Sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 319 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely excellent. You would have to go far to get better food. I've been here a couple of times and it never fails. Great wines too. And great price.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank anonymousgimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017

This little restaurant is quite popular at lunch and we were lucky to find a table for two without reservation. The service is friendly and quick. For lunch they have a special formula (three courses for 19 euros), or you can have just two courses for 14.50. Very good value for money. Desserts are worth the wait. A good selection of wine and several choices by the glass.
Very close to the central market, and definitely a place to come back to. Difficult parking in this area and I would suggest you park at Place Verdun parking. It's a very short walk.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FHN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

when we set foot in the restaurant, we knew the meal would be good. The scent of food being prepared made our mouths water. We had only 45 minutes to eat, and we were seated and served quickly. we ordered one of the lunch specials - a lamb parmentier. it was one of the best parmentiers I've had, it was also quite rich and filling. It was too heavy for my daughter though. I only had room for a coffee. The waitress was very friendly too.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thomas35000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2015

We liked the look of the menu and looked forward to being treated to some interesting tastes….Sad experience…..…..rather disinterested service, certainly not warm, horrible plates made of black "pottery", the noise they made when one scraped up the food was not nice at all…..the food was a real let-down….banal and heavy,dishes that could well profit from the local wealth of fabulous ingredients….risotto with haddock and cockles…drowning in fat, and cheese….so where was the freshness of the seafood? a magret of duck in 5 spices that you could have in any middle level asian restaurant…and please… the same boring potatoes served for a guinea fowl with mushrooms as for a beef tart….sorry that is sheer laziness. The whole evening…a real disappointment… We felt neither love for the cooking nor enthusiasm for the enterprise…..hmm Just opposite is a fabulous wineshop/bar/with food….in every sense a lovely experience…

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ardoise des Cloutiers also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to L'Ardoise des Cloutiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing