We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A splendid place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everything I read about this hotel in Trip Advisor was true - nicely furnished spacious rooms with clean, modern bathrooms, very good location and an exceptionally nice front desk staff. At the arrival we got a full information what to see and where to eat in La Rochelle - it was very helpful. If I ever go back to La Rochelle, I will choose this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room from the street side and though I was afraid it would be loud, there was no problem wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    255
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
78
463
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
testelt
Level Contributor
236 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for two nights.
We had a very warm welcome by the receptionist ; and had very good recommendations for restaurants.
The garden is very nice, quiet and you can have a drink there.
The place has style , really warm . The hotel is in a quiet area and still very close (10 minutes walk) to the centre of the city.
One remark regarding the safe - it was put on the floor in the wardrobe, hard to open and you had to really ly on your knies to put something in. We had a nice room but no view outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a lovely spacious room, mixture of modern and old. Hotel with character. Safe in room wasn't fastened into wardrobe so wasn't very safe! Staff on reception very friendly. Great value car parking next to hotel, unlimited free Wi-Fi and hotel excellently placed for short walk into shops or to port area. Would happily go again.

Room Tip: Worth paying for traditional with bath or better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bladette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Champlain for one night. It was the best hotel that we have stayed at in France. The receptionist was lovely and helpfull. Our room was beautiful and had the feel of a 5 star room with a lovely comfy bed and huge bathroom. The hotels position is perfect for visiting all that La Rochelle has to offer. We opted to have breakfast the next day and that was delicious. Would really recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this wonderfull port town.

Room Tip: Looking in the rooms as they where being cleaned the next day, any room as they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Champlain Hotel for one night. We were warmly welcomed by a lovely lady at the reception (regrettably we don't remember her name) who was very helpful and provided us with useful information about local shops, places to eat. It's location to the main bus station (less than 2 minutes walk).
Despite our 11am arrival the hotel ensured our room was ready.
Our room was spacious, very clean and most comfortable. We had a most enjoyable breakfast in the garden which was a wonderful strat to our day.
We would definatley recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

great hotel, lots of character, lovely modern bathrooms. Free wifi. The staff are really helpful and would put many 5 star hotels to shame. Totally worth paying for the more expensive rooms - I could have happily moved into ours on a permanent basis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in every possible way. Convinient location, nice atmosphere, feel like at very best friend's summer house. Antique furniture in a hall and our room makes your stay more romantic. Garden is a good example how they treat guests. We fell in love with hotel and looking forward to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SShashkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.5 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#7 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#8 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#19 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#17 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
Address: 30 rue Rambaud, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing