We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, walking distance to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights here, and given that the weather was rainy and windy, we were really lucky to be staying here. Our room was large and clean, the bathroom was modern, and there was a comfortable reading chair. Our room looked onto a large and beautiful interior garden, that we sadly were unable to enjoy. There was a nice bar and salon, where we had late afternoon drinks, and the breakfast room was traditional and elegant. It was an easy walk to the harbor and restaurants and shops all along the arcades. This hotel is a find, a great value, and a wonderful place to stay. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripreport12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 738 reviews

A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Paunat, Dordogne
31
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent 2 nights here in Oct 2012. This charming old manor house was fantastic. Friendly staff, clean rooms with plenty of space and super high ceilings (must have been 12 feet high at least), comfy bed, upgraded bathroom in suite etc... The charm of the older building with it's sweeping staircase, antique furniture and spacious decor was perfect after spending a week in a Paris hotel so small you had to leave the room to change your mind. :) We loved the buffet breakfast served every morning in the dining room next to the beautiful interior courtyard. Only wish it was warmer outside and we would of had breakfast on the terrace. The staff was great and very helpful. The hotel is located in the historical city centre just a few steps from St. Louis Cathedral and about a 10 min walk from the harbour. We got a taxi from the train station since we had 2 big suitcases and it took about 5 mins and cost us 7.6 Euros. If you have a backpack you could walk to the hotel in about 15 minutes. We highly recommend staying here.

Charming note... the old elevator to help you reach the 2nd and 3rd floor is super tiny. Only fits one person with one bag. We only used it to help us get our luggage up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viviane9ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I had a very comfortable room, overlooking the garden. The breakfast was excellent, and good value, and items were regularly refilled or replaced. The location was ideal for walking into the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_B_C_W_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Driving to the hotel was a bit 'exciting' (lots of small streets), but the AA route took us right to the door. Parked in their garage, which is just before the hotel on this one-way street (which I had to reverse up). Receptionist was very welcoming and the room was lovely, large and overlooking the quiet garden at the back. Breakfast was good and the glass of Port I had in the bar was probably the biggest I've ever been served in a hotel (marvelous!). The only problem we had was some water coming through the ceiling from the room above - the hotel was very apologetic and took the bar drinks off the bill without being asked, which was a nice touch. I'll stay here again if in La Rochelle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, better view and nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

In the same family for three generations (all women) - and it shows! Neat, tidy and scrupulously clean. Delightful and attentive staff led by a charming owner who is passionate about her hotel. Very quiet but only 10 minutes walk from the bustling La Rochelle old port. Breakfast superb with really excellent coffee. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in July 2012. We paid a little extra for a higher grade room, and it was worth it. I was a little worried about the 'Best Western' tag, but I shouldn't have been. I think that means something better in France, than maybe in the UK. In fact the hotel was reasonably grand, and the staff very efficient and helpful.

We paid for the hotel breakfast, which I recall was around 11 euros each. Quite a lot, but it was an extensive buffet arrangement, which I thought was great. There is a nice garden at the back, and you can sun bathe discretely, if that's you thing.

If you have a car, parking can be difficult in La Rochelle. They can arrange parking in a garage 2 doors away, and entering the garage is like going back 40 years in a Tardis. I loved it

The hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes stroll into the centre of town, which was fine for us. I would certainly go back to this hotel.

If you want a fright, climb to the top of the 12th century lighthouse in the harbour. By the way, there is a market most days in La Rochelle, and by one side of it is a tiny bar with pictures of rugby payers on the wall. We have a good, cheap lunch there. The menu is very small (as was the cubicle kitchen), but memorable at least to us. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#6 of 49 in La Rochelle
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Champlain France Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Champlain France Angleterre

Address: 30 Rue Rambaud, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#1 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: $109 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Champlain France Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Champlain France Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing