We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and a lovely old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly and a lovely old hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Driving to the hotel was a bit 'exciting' (lots of small streets), but the AA route took us right to the door. Parked in their garage, which is just before the hotel on this one-way street (which I had to reverse up). Receptionist was very welcoming and the room was lovely, large and overlooking the quiet garden at the back. Breakfast was good and the glass of Port I had in the bar was probably the biggest I've ever been served in a hotel (marvelous!). The only problem we had was some water coming through the ceiling from the room above - the hotel was very apologetic and took the bar drinks off the bill without being asked, which was a nice touch. I'll stay here again if in La Rochelle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, better view and nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    271
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
81
490
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

In the same family for three generations (all women) - and it shows! Neat, tidy and scrupulously clean. Delightful and attentive staff led by a charming owner who is passionate about her hotel. Very quiet but only 10 minutes walk from the bustling La Rochelle old port. Breakfast superb with really excellent coffee. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in July 2012. We paid a little extra for a higher grade room, and it was worth it. I was a little worried about the 'Best Western' tag, but I shouldn't have been. I think that means something better in France, than maybe in the UK. In fact the hotel was reasonably grand, and the staff very efficient and helpful.

We paid for the hotel breakfast, which I recall was around 11 euros each. Quite a lot, but it was an extensive buffet arrangement, which I thought was great. There is a nice garden at the back, and you can sun bathe discretely, if that's you thing.

If you have a car, parking can be difficult in La Rochelle. They can arrange parking in a garage 2 doors away, and entering the garage is like going back 40 years in a Tardis. I loved it

The hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes stroll into the centre of town, which was fine for us. I would certainly go back to this hotel.

If you want a fright, climb to the top of the 12th century lighthouse in the harbour. By the way, there is a market most days in La Rochelle, and by one side of it is a tiny bar with pictures of rugby payers on the wall. We have a good, cheap lunch there. The menu is very small (as was the cubicle kitchen), but memorable at least to us. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Undoubtably this is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. The garden (where I am sitting right now) is idyllic. I also cannot fault the breakfast which was plentiful & delicious.

However we had a bad experience which marred our visit. Our ground floor room (which was tiny by the way) number 52 had patio doors opening onto the garden. However they were broken & we were unable to lock them. We reported this immediately but we were not offered a better room but one facing the street. We were told that the room would be secure as long as we kept the electric shutter closed. We were also promised that the doors would be fixed the following day.

This, however, did not happen but worse still, even though we left the "do not disturb" sign on the bedroom door our room was cleaned while we were out & the electric shutter was opened...thus leaving the room insecure to anyone working/staying at the hotel from the outside!

I must say that the owner of the hotel was very apologetic & offered us a free breakfast by way of recompense but this whole situation could have been avoided had a) we been offered a more suitable room and/or b) the hotel staff had not ignored our "do not disturb" sign!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel but I would suggest upgrading to a better room than the basic one offered and definitely don't get room 52 until it is fixed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Superspikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It’s true it doesn’t look like much from the street, but once inside this hotel is well kept and nicely elegant in an old world style, and there’s that pretty garden. We enjoyed our 3-day stay here a lot. Our room was spacious and seemed recently updated, in a more modern style than we expected, but tastefully modern. Terrifically comfortable bed, quiet (we overlooked the garden), good shower (although a bigger shield or a curtain would help keep the water in the tub), and a nice place to come back to and relax--somewhat removed from the busy touristed port area, but easily accessible. The staff were very attentive and helpful in general, but particularly about dinner choices in town and helped us stay away from the hyped places, which we appreciated. Wifi worked fine, which is important to us. The garage was tight, but easy to use. A nice alternative to a big impersonal hotel. We didn’t have the breakfast, but we generally don’t, and I admit we were somewhat tempted by the beautiful garden setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angoulême, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

On entering the hotel you are stunned by its internal old fashioned beauty and welcomed by very pleasant staff on the reception.
We stayed with friends and both our rooms were of a high standard.
Our room was old fashioned in style, very spacious, comfortable bed and lovely bathroom.
Breakfast buffet covered most tastes and it was charming to sit outside in the garden to enjoy it in the morning sunshine.
Highly recommended especially being walking distance to the port, but far enough away for a peaceful rest.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to be spoilt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16feebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Brilliant hotel. Extremely spacious room. Almost silent and well functioning air conditioning. free wifi. Hotel does not look like much from the outside but is very good. Well worth it's excellent reviews. Courtyard garden lovely and worth sitting out in for breakfast. We had breakfast one morning and it was good but not amazing. Staff were helpful. Parking was next door in what looks like a garage (ground floor is a garage) top floor is the hotel parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#2 of 49 in La Rochelle
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Un Hotel en Ville
Un Hotel en Ville
#1 of 49 in La Rochelle
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Champlain France Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Champlain France Angleterre

Property: Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Address: 30 Rue Rambaud, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#1 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#4 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Champlain France Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Champlain France Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing