We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil location in heart of the town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Located on the fringe of the old town and surrounded by traditional stone buildings in a nice urban setting. It is a very short walk from the harbour and old town. The hotel has modern furnishings, is very clean and has a pretty good selection of food at breakfast. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zotsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 756 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have booked 1 double bed-room during our stay at La Rochelle and the hotel is well situated in the city-centre. The staffs were really friendly and helpful, the decoration was nice, the room was comfortable & specious and the breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel St. Nicolas and were so impressed – having stayed in several other hotels in La Rochelle over the years, this was by far the best. A quality hotel, nice rooms, terrific breakfast, secure car parking, extremely helpful staff, reasonable prices, close to the harbour and downtown – what more could you want. The reception staff, in particular, went above and beyond the call of duty when we had a minor crisis that was made so much easier due to their helpful assistance. Clearly deserves its high rating on Trip Advisor and we won’t be looking anywhere else for accommodation on future visits to La Rochelle – a gem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week during a work visit to La Rochelle.
The service and staff were excellent and work very hard to make your stay a good one. The rooms are not exceptionally large but comfortable enough and certainly adequate as a base to see the local area. Parking is available at 10 euros though it may be advisable to pre-book this, the car park is secure and sits behind the hotel.
The location of the hotel places you almost in the port, so its a very short walk into the main shopping and retaurant area in one direction or heeding the other way will take you down to the harbour and the beach. Obviously being november we decided against trying the beach !!
As we ate out every night our only experience of the dinign was the excellent breakfast provided each morning, with a selection of cereals, cold meats, bread, cheese and for those in need of more...scrambled egg and bacon.
I would definately recommend a stay at this hotel and will be planning a return visit to see the sights when its a little warmer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichJCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Saint Nicolas for our 10th wedding anniversary this October, for 3 nights. It was perfectly located for what we wanted - access to the port, good food and drink. The Hotel was well run and the room, although not massive, was fine for what we wanted. The staff were helpful (booking taxis etc) and Yannick, who looked after the late bar, was really accommodating and great fun after a long day exploring the local food and wine! If the hotel had stocked some Get31 it would have been perfect ;). Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here en route from Portugal early October 2013. Great location for the old port, restaurants, shops, friendly and very helpful service, facilities fine. Car park is awkward for a large car but is invaluable. Value for money and dog not a problem. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.4 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Brises
Hotel Les Brises
#6 of 49 in La Rochelle
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Nicolas

Address: 13 rue Sardinerie, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range: $81 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel La Rochelle
Comfort Inn La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing