We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveler rating
210
547
256
82
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
547
256
82
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking great location outdoor parking vieux port powerful shower mini bar on the small side overlooking the harbour old town maritime museum rooms are small recommend this hotel car park modern hotel close to the train station within easy walking distance bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Room had a couple of small problems, when we arrived. That were sorted quickly by the staff,(broken door hinge,safe not working). Big car park,but with 120 rooms it gets full! Sometimes I felt I was in a "business" hotel. Panoramic resturaunt has great views, for one, but the partner has his/her back to it. Not a sharing experience. The seabass starter is uncooked fish. Not what I was expecting (must try harder to read the menu fully!) . Overall very clean and smart hotel, in a good location. But the Novotel La Rochelle centre next to the park seems slightly better and more personal, (and has larger rooms).

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Robert G,

Thank you for your message !
I hope that you will come back in Mercure La Rochelle for your next stay in our lovely town.

Sincerely,

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Visited in August, at height of season. There are usually problems parking in the Old Port, and it's pricy, so free parking at this site is a real bonus.
There's a restaurant here, but we thought it was a bit pricey, and anyway, there's lots of alternatives nearby. Hotels like this should be more competitive.
Room was relatively small, but adequate. I thought I was entering the wardrobe, but it was the (well-equipped) bathroom instead.
Hotel seems to be a favourite for coach tour parties.
Very good location for visiting the old town though, so it has my recommendation for that reason alone.

Room Tip: Pretty rooms overlooking the port, but a bit more expensive.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Accrington155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Accrington155,

Thank you so much for your kind message.
Hope to see you soon, for your next stay in La Rochelle.

Best regards,

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We got this hotel at last notice during a busy period in the holiday season, but it was noticeably much more expensive than other hotels in other areas of France where we had stayed. The room, whilst comfortable, was very small and the bathroom door was a cupboard door with the same sort of hinges! Very odd. There was little noise suppression from the room next door. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is in an excellent position next to the aquarium, but nearby roads can be very congested at busy times. We didn't try the restaurant but it looked OK.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank markpN9417ZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear MarkpN9417ZY,

Thank you for your message.
I can undesrtand that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, next time don't hesitate to call us before your reservation, you can have a lot of different rates availbales if you make a reservation, you can have an important discount with a reservation one month before.

I hope to see you soon in Mercure La Rochelle.

Best regards,

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

After a 5 hour journey arrived at this beautifully placed hotel only to be put in a broom cupboard. You could not swing a cat in this room. Told by Reception all rooms same size talk about getting every penny you can from the limited space. As I am a Member of the Accor Group have stayed in many of their hotels but never in a room so small it should be sold as a single room
Not a double

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert186266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Robert 186266,

Thank your for taking time to give us a a comment about your last stay in our hotel.
Unfortunatelly, you're right our rooms are not very large, my reception staff told you right, all the rooms are at the same size.

We hope that you will choose our hotel for another stya in La Rochelle for your next stay.

Best regards,

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

The room was very small but adequate. Extremely clean and everything you would need- mini bar, safe and very well equipped bathroom. In a very central location and free parking. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We eat in the restaurant on one night. Food was excellent and the restaurant staff were very knowable and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting La Rochelle.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank mah0ney67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth G, Directeur général at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear mah0ney 67,

Thank you so much for your kind message.
You're right our rooms are a little bit small but we make all the best for the comfort.
Hope to see you soon in Mercure La Rochelle.

Sincerely,

Elisabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews