We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, standard novotel rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Clermont-ferrand, France
Level Contributor
192 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, standard novotel rooms”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nothing very much to say.
The place is located next to the park and this is very nice!
Staff is extremely nice and helpful.
Rooms are old but recently refurbished one!
I would recommend this place if you do not expect any charm but a functional place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    448
    132
    27
    10
See reviews for
345
290
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here by myself (single female traveller) in Nov 2012. The receptionist was extremely helpful, even lending me a UK/EUR plug converter and suggesting good restaurants. The room was typical Novotel but the hotel is positioned near a beautiful park just 5 mins walk to the port. Really enjoyed myself here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMayhew2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Very close to centre of La Rochelle and high standards throughout. It is not an attractive building from outside (very 80's), but the interior is modern, functional and attractive.
All of the staff are friendly and highly attentive. Service is swift and effortless. My room was very comfortable and clean with the added bonus of free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.
Breakfast is adequate, the cold buffet is very good, but hot food not great. Room service was very speedy and tasty, but rather pricey.
Overall, I had a very comfortable stay and would recommend for a short stop over or if on business.
They also have smoking rooms, which, in the winter is a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigsnakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here form na short holiday in the summer. We were on a cycling trip.

We booked for bed and breakfast.

The hotel is in an excellent position only 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Hiowever, it was hard to find being on the edge of the park and down a narrow street that you may not believe goes anywhere!

The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. they spoke good English. They were able to give us good information on restaurants in the locality, a map of the town and were very happy to store our bikes in a down-stairs conference room.

The hotel room was really good. Extremely clean and tidy. Really comfortable bed. A good size.

Breakfast was very good. The bits we British like (eg bacon etc) were not very nice at all but that should not detract from the good variety and quality of the yogurts, bread, croissants, cold meat and cheese etc. They also have an excellent coffee machine. Again the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The evening meals at the hotel were very expensive and this was disappointing as we would have eaten there had it been more reasonable as it did look nice. However, La Rochelle has a wide variety of restaurants to suit all tastes and it is literally only 5 minutes walk to the town centre.

They ahve an outdoor pool but not usable at the time of year we went. Looked a decent size and easily accessible from the restaurant bar

We were on a cycling holiday and the hotel is excellently situated for that with it being around 10 minutes cycle from the bridge to Isle de Rae, which is well worth the trip.

Overall a really enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you don't mind walking a little to the beach, this hotel next to the large city park is ideal. I has included parking, a very good breakfast, and comfortable beds. The staff was friendly and helpful. The walk to the beach is short, but as I was there in the cooler weather it was not important, it was a very nice walk through the park and I would stay there regardless had it been summer. It is also a less than 10 minute was to the harbor where all the activity was. So if you aren't longing for a sea view it is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjcuciti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with husband and two kids. The room was adequate for our needs, had its only hallway which was great for storing two buggies. Double bed with a pull-out sofa that turned into two single beds. able to fold bed away in the mornings so you got the space back again. The hotel is approx 5 minutes walk away from the Port and the town, one direction took you towards the port and beach, the other direction took you to the bus station and the main shopping area. We used the bus transport from the airport to the bus terminal in the town centre, and then a five minute walk took you to the hotel. After that, it was all walking - no need for taxi service.
hotel staff were very pleasant and happy to help. the hotel has a kids area, free accesss to public computer and XBox360. this was availble in the bar/lobby area which was great in the evening when you wanted to unwind in the bar area and kids were always near.
we didnt take breakfast as we didnt want to commit ourselves to set times, however, we bought croissants/bread/butter and kept it in the room. there is a mini bar available, so we used it for storing butter and drinks. Tea/Coffee available too, also there are complimentary croissants available at the bar in the mornings.
visited the aquarium and the towers, the aquarium was fine but you would need to really be into your fish to get the value for money. 50euro for a one hour tour around big fish tanks, kids spent most of the time running up and down the corridors.
this was our second visit to La Rochelle, lovely place to chill out in for a mini break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snicks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having stayed at many Accor properties I would say that this hotel is ready for some refurbishment.
The reception staff were very helpful when we requested a room change and to fix a non-functioning room safe.
Forget breakfast at 15 Euros for cold powdered scrambled eggs etc. This is not uncommon in France it seems.
There is ample parking but not secure as the electric entry gate was not working.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
0.8 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel La Rochelle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel La Rochelle Centre

Property: Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Address: Av de la Porte Neuve, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#11 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel La Rochelle Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel La Rochelle Centre enjoys a peaceful setting next to one of the major parks in La Rochelle. 10 Min walk from the centre of town, the Vieux Port (Old Harbour) and the beach, the hotel offers 94 rooms including 50 family rooms. Enjoy cuisine rich in regional flavours in our restaurant. Our outdoor swimming pool in a calm setting along with plenty of things to do in the local area make this 3 star hotel perfect for a holiday in La Rochelle with your partner or family. Free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel La Rochelle Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel La Rochelle
La Rochelle Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing