We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service on the tourist strip”

Brasserie des Dames
Ranked #389 of 605 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Great location on the water side of the road, with a large outdoor seating area and decent indoor seating. We had the plat de jour, and it was very tasty and a good portion size. And plenty of free bed. The food is good so I feel sorry for the Chef who is clearly trying hard. They don’t list wine by the glass on the menu so you are given a very basic option eg red is sancerre, no winery etc and just have to hope it is ok, which it was. The big problem is the service, the waiters are running in and out so you have to tackle then to get there attention which is very annoying. There doesn’t seem to be be any supervisors making sure it all works. They started to pack up the outdoor area around us, and were so focussed on this, they didn’t clear out plates or offer any more drinks, so we had to get up and go inside to pay, plates still on the table! There are so many options in La Rochelle we will try others instead.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank anthonygL5915SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2018

Very busy place all through the day, especially when the weather is nice and the terrasse is open. It might be better is some waiters only did the inside and others the outside sections. We had to remind them twice we were there before getting our orders in and then wait our turn for the single barman to get through all the orders. They did get the order right even with the small extras we asked for. We also had to flag them twice for the bill.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gamine1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Nice location but, slow service, expensive prices for the quality you could expect, and not good food.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank xladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by here, for lunch, during a visit to La Rochelle.

We had mussels with a roquefort sauce, and bavette, both good. The mussels really fresh and local, and the steak succulent and well cooked.

For desserts we had a crepe belle Helene, excellent, and a good tiramisu with salted caramel and speculoos biscuit.

Pleasant servers and good views of the old port.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank 783AndrewT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Let's face it, I'm adding another poor review to a long list but it doesn't matter as the place will always be packed. A fine location (First on the quay) means busy busy and money money but boy is the food overpriced and unlovable. Service was friendly but inconsistent, steak was tasteless and tough like rubber, chops were cold. Wine was good though (but hey, it's France). Outrageously overpriced compared to many better establishments just round the corner. Two words: Tourist Trap

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank jezfish66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie des Dames also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Brasserie des Dames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing