We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome and delicious, healthy food”

Le Soleil Brille pour Tout Le Monde
Ranked #66 of 581 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 17, 2018


The restaurant is situated close to the market, and as it is small and very popular, it is wise to phone to book in advance. The staff were vey helpful and friendly and we enjoyed a delicious meal, with a wide range of vegetarian options. Highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank awatle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 427 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2018

Love a place that is popular with local, so much so that you have to share a communal table even though it was only just after 12.30 am.
Near the market and thus bustling with life, if you want sedate this is not for you.
If you want good fun and food to match - you have found it!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank AngloIrishinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

What an amazing find just around the corner from the market and away from the tourist drag. On a Tuesday evening in February it was full with locals but they sat us at the bar. Very short menu with one dish of the day and a few other things. Our meal was amazing, the best I have ever had in France and good priced wine, all organic. Because we sat at the bar we could watch the chef preparing the food and he gave us his recipe for crepes and loads of recommendations for other restaurants. An absolute gem, but cash only, which helps to keep the price down. Oh I wish we were staying in La Rochelle for another night!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

We were lucky to get a seat at noon as the whole place was booked out, but they asked us if we wanted to sit up at the counter. As the place is opposite the fresh food market where we would have expected to sit at a counter anyway, we were more than happy.

We ordered the plate de jour, mine the chillies con carne, my wife had a pork stew. It was rainy so these dishes were spot on.

Both dishes were large, tasty and came with very fresh salads. We were able to watch the chef prepare everything. Our plates were served up in a matter of moments.

The half pitcher of rose was acceptable, and the meals were so big we couldn't get through them, but we were disappointed they don't accept cards, for such a popular place with dozens of Routard plaques up to tempt tourists, this is a ploy more often practiced by dodgy places.

So go along and enjoy your experience but make sure you have plenty of cash.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

It seems that this restaurant is popular with both locals and tourists. It takes reservations but once again, we walked up at 7:00 pm and they found us a table. Gallette (buckwheat savoury crepe), plat du jour (fish gratin with vegetables) a green salad to share, a bottle of red wine and coffee for under E50. The food was very tasty, the waitress was just about run off her feet attending to the full restaurant but she still stayed cheerful.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Soleil Brille pour Tout Le Monde also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Soleil Brille pour Tout Le Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing