We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In La Rochelle”
Review of L'Astrolabe

L'Astrolabe
Ranked #6 of 565 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Price range: $13 - $19
Description: Our restaurant, l'Astrolabe is located in the heart of the historical center of La Rochelle, between the old harbour and the central market. Our goal is to make your taste buds travel! We offer a travel kitchen made with locals products. Specialties of raw or cooked meats and fish, vegetarian dishes, gourmet desserts ... everything is possible so that everyone has a good time. You will also find in our restaurant an original selection of wines and beers from around the world
Restaurant details
Description: Our restaurant, l'Astrolabe is located in the heart of the historical center of La Rochelle, between the old harbour and the central market. Our goal is to make your taste buds travel! We offer a travel kitchen made with locals products. Specialties of raw or cooked meats and fish, vegetarian dishes, gourmet desserts ... everything is possible so that everyone has a good time. You will also find in our restaurant an original selection of wines and beers from around the world
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We researched and decide on this fabulous restaurant on TripAdvisor before our holiday, and it did not disappoint.

It is located on a back street in the old town of Rochelle, just a couple of minutes from the shops but sufficiently hidden that you are unlikely to simply happen upon it. And, in a manner of speaking, that it is the point: this restaurant would simply not survive unless the food presented was anything less than extraordinary.

It was a beautiful evening and so we chose to sit outside, opposite the restaurant and on the not so glamorous street with buildings which could probably do with a little more care and attention. Don't let this put you off.

A gentleman, who we assume was the chef / proprietor, took us through what was, at first sight, a very brief menu with just three fish dishes and three beef dishes. Each three ranged from "uncooked" to slightly cooked and then cooked. I plumped for the "uncooked" carpaccio of beef and it was an absolute joy which I would definitely order again. The three chocolate pudding I had for dessert demonstrated a genuine care and attention to detail which would not be far-removed from that offered by a Michelin starred restaurant.

Service by non-English-speaking waiters and waitresses was friendly and fun.

Honestly, this restaurant wholeheartedly deserves its (at the time of writing) No 1 Tripadvisor restaurant in La Rochelle and I urge you to give it a go and try something different. Or, you could just have scampi and chips on the harbour and stare at the boats!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thiosux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello,
it's a pleasure to know that you had a good evening in our establishment.

The entire team and the chef in particular thank you for the enthusiasm you expressed.

We are delighted that you have appreciated the quality of our products and the precise attention we give them.

Once again thank you for this comment as pleasant as motivating.

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 203 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2018

We have been staying in LR for a few days and noticed that most restaurants seem to be similar in style - which, on the whole, have been good experiences. However, we were looking for a special dinner and began looking through tripadvisor for suggestions. We fancied the reviews for L'Astrolabe and went to have a look before committing. We met the owner/chef and the place was small but interesting in that it was not in the least prententious but intriguing. Spotlessly clean, really dynamic menu that was so different from every other restaurant.....we had to try it! So, this evening we spent a fascinating time eating some of the best food we have had for a very long time. The menu choices were grouped into Meat, fish or vegetarian. For the fish and meat, there was an option for a dish based on either Raw, Medium cooked or Cooked. It sounds odd but it works superbly. Between the four of us, we tried different dishes and although not entirely sure which was which until after the meal, they surpassed our expectations by some margin. The attention to detail and layers of taste was quite simply, sublime. And all of this is cooked and plated pretty much in front of your eyes as the restaurant is so small. How the staff can work so well together in such a small space is testament to the teamwork that the chef has been able to achieve. We have finished our evening feeling comfortably filled but without any sense of over-eaten due mainly to the portion size suiting us spot on. We are only in LR for a couple more days and staying with family but we are already planning a re-visit, possibly a lunchtime one, to try out some more of the dishes.
Speaking on behalf of all of us, I would have no hesitation to recommend this gem of a place for someone who fancies something out of the ordinary......you simply could not call it ordinary. Try it!

Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Hello Hazel,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
We are a small place but trying to give to our clients the experience and service quality level you've described.
It truly touch our team to see such comments and we would more than glad to have you again.

The chef and all the team thank you.

We hope you'll enjoy your stay in Larochelle!

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

It was lovely to have dinner in L'ASTROLABLE :) the food was very fresh and i could feel they use ingridients from local! i had tataki which is japanese style of dish! it was well cooked! ( cus sometime tataki would not well cooked, so there is smell of fish or meat).
also the plating dish it's simple but very chaming as well!
i'll be visit for lunch soon! :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soyoungh870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hello Soyoungh,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your tataki and its just cooking.
We are looking forward to having you forlunch and hope you will be 100% satisfied

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

Amazing flavours, such a tasty meal! It was the highlight of our weekend in La Rochelle. The service was perfect too! I couldn't recommend more to go to there!!

Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

Hello Camille,
Thank you very much for your very nice review.
It was a pleasure to receive you with your friends and we are happy that everything went well for you.
I look forward to seeing you again if you come again from London!
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

This is a very small restaurant with three tables upstairs and a further 7 tables downstairs. The kitchen looks about the same size as a typical wardrobe but this does not detract from the quality of the food which is first class. Definitely better to be upstairs if available and probably more comfortable for lunch than dinner but put it on the list

Thank badgirlwanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Hello and thank you for your comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food. You are right, the restaurant is not very big but that's part of its charm.
See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Astrolabe also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to L'Astrolabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing