We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food though Limited Menu”
Review of L'Astrolabe

L'Astrolabe
Ranked #9 of 596 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Price range: $12 - $19
Description: Our restaurant, l'Astrolabe is located in the heart of the historical center of La Rochelle, between the old harbour and the central market. Our goal is to make your taste buds travel! We offer a travel kitchen made with locals products. Specialties of raw or cooked meats and fish, vegetarian dishes, gourmet desserts ... everything is possible so that everyone has a good time. You will also find in our restaurant an original selection of wines and beers from around the world
Restaurant details
Description: Our restaurant, l'Astrolabe is located in the heart of the historical center of La Rochelle, between the old harbour and the central market. Our goal is to make your taste buds travel! We offer a travel kitchen made with locals products. Specialties of raw or cooked meats and fish, vegetarian dishes, gourmet desserts ... everything is possible so that everyone has a good time. You will also find in our restaurant an original selection of wines and beers from around the world
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

Our starters and main courses had a strong Asian influence - crisp tasty salads with ceviche and beef carpaccio. A good contrast to ‘normal’ French cuisine. The menu and drinks lists were not extensive and a few of the dishes and wines were not available but we very much enjoyed what we had. The chocolate dessert was a real contrast to the healthy starters and mains - gooey and unctuous. Good friendly service in small but stylish setting.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank MeandererEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our establishment.

Our menu is short because we only work with fresh products which also explains why sometimes dishes are not available if they have already been all ordered by previous customers.

Our menu changes regularly and at this moment there are a lot of asian influences but not only and for example the ceviche you are talking about is Peruvian.

Unfortunately we were short on one dish and one type of wine that night. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Hope to see you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 264 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2017

Apologies for the very late review.

We visited L'Astrolabe during its second week of opening back in August. Was so impressed with the food and service we went back again for our final meal out at the end of our holiday.

Fusion cuisine, beautifully presented, quality ingredients and wonderful flavours, so different to anything else we have found in 15 years of visiting La Rochelle. Good wines with a novel and flexible arrangement for purchase, you only pay for the portion of the bottle you used at the end of the meal

Benoit and the team are excellent with friendly and attentive service, nothing is too much trouble. We are not surprised that other reviewers have consistently rated as 5 Stars in the time that has passed.

We are looking forward to visiting L'Astrolabe again when next in La Rochelle.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoît L, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Hello Philip,
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your friendly family.
We are very happy that you appreciate our fusion food made with locals products.
We are waiting for you! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We stumbled across this looking for Sunday lunch with three kids in tow and, after a quick look at the rating (5 stars), we decided to try it out.

To say we were bowled over would be an understatement. This restaurant serves fusion food from across the planet that the owner picked up on his world travels, whose pictures decorate the place. Each dish was a delicate balance of amazing flavours. The food is inventive and challenges the diner, but it was so well done even my kids were in culinary heaven.

Finally, there was great service to boot, with nice touches like bringing back another plate of the fragrant steam rice after the kids devoured their mum's.

The place opened five or six weeks ago, and it gets nothing but five star reviews. They're fully justified. Go now, before it's fully discovered.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xFamilyOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 18, 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you had a great time in our restaurant.
It is always a pleasure to know what our customers think and as it's essential for us!
Thank you again for enjoying our cuisine and highlighting the quality.
Come by again before you leave for new adventures!

For information to readers, we are open on Sunday lunch only during high season, after september we'll be open from Tuesday to Friday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstroResto, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstroResto, Propriétaire at L'Astrolabe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Astrolabe also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to L'Astrolabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing