We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Italian, pleasant service”

Le Comptoir Italien
Ranked #71 of 598 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Are you ready for a journey to italia ? We are waiting for you at the 22 rue Saint Jean du Pérot at La Rochelle.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Visited last week. What started off as a cold and frosty reception warmed up over time. The wife had one of the best mains of the holiday but both agreed the Parmesana Melanzana was lacking in substance. The wine list is decent and the choice of the matre’d (a blindingly good Moltepucino) was excellent. The Rigotoni main was fine in flavour and scored well as the pasta was aldente to perfection.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LiamFarrell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 656 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2018

We enjoyed a pleasant evening at Le Comptoir. Service was friendly and efficient and we enjoyed our antipasti. Both the beef ravioli and the risotto were tasty. 100% Italian wine list which is always nice to see.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank loirewinefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

We arrived with no reservation but the waiter was charming and seated us within 5 mins. We shared the grande plate of octopus to start and they split it across 2 plates. This was the best plate of food,by far, in our fortnight in La Rochelle. The warm tomato and potato salad that accompanied the octopus really made this dish delicious. For main my wife had the Branzano fillet and I had the beef ravioli with truffle. Both were perfect and I had to mop up all the sauce with the bread as it was too good to leave.
The red wine, Fufluna, was great and highly recommended. With one desert and one coffee the bill came to €134 so not cheap but the food/wine was outstanding and service to match. There is a fixed price menu which would have been much cheaper but what we had was well worth the money.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

We've made a pit stop to this restaurant while out and about in La Rochelle last month and were pleasently surprised by the atmosphere, service and food. We've ordered a menu with entrée and main course and were very satisfied by both the food and the service. The restaurant has a very nice decoration and a cool terrace. Pasta was great and the risotto balls in entree also.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

In a street full of excellent restaurants Le Comptoir is a deservedly busy establishment offering good value food in a delightful setting. Ambience is excellent and accompanying wines purposeful if a little on the expensive side. Service is good without being pushy and importantly, food is tasty and well presented.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir Italien also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Comptoir Italien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing