We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not one of our better choices”
Review of La Grand Rive

La Grand Rive
Ranked #378 of 617 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Price range: $17 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had 7 meals out in La Rochelle and this was the worst and to top it off the most expensive.the only good part was when we asked the waiter for a taxi it came straight away and did not rip us off.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martync1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sat near the back of the cafe lots of empty tables. Ignored by the waitress and I eventually had to ask if I could have a dessert and coffee. She said no I could only have a full meal. 2 men near by were chatting with empty beer glasses near them. I pointed them out and she said they were there for breakfast. This was at 11.45. SHe was so rude it spoilt my memory of la Rochelle.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
Thank amt211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Great position overlooking harbour and boats. Drinks a bit expensive but not bad value for food....we just had two entrees as a lunchtime snack and that was perfect for us. We sat in the front watching the people with their dogs and had a wonderful time. Very good service from friendly waiter.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Hptmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I chose the restaurant from the dozens around the port area. We have been disappointed before in La Rochelle as many of the restaurants place turnover before quality of food and service. This place was definitely not in that category. The waiter was charming and solicitous. So far so good.

My soupe de poissons was very good indeed, my wife’s Italian salad was super the large mozzarella and the melons and antipasti looked and tasted good.

The pavement tables are a great place to people watch! All in all a great pit stop.

All topped of with a pair of panache’s and a nice coffee, everywhere in the Eurozone is now expensive for us Brits now but nevertheless good value.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank StephenR744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

Ordered two cocktails at almost 10 euros each. Awful. No alcohol just pop. Excellent location over the harbour but that’s what you are paying for.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank HelenL02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grand Rive also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
Change, Sarthe
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to La Grand Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing