We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy , expensive but superb”
Review of La Grand Rive

La Grand Rive
Ranked #380 of 604 Restaurants in La Rochelle
Price range: $17 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

I went this saturday for my birthday ! Nice terras ,in the sun or in the shade , you can choose! Superb view over the old harbour, friendly waiters , nice fish dishes , but meat lovers welcome . I recommand it for couples not with children . Expensive but worth it .

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 605 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

I think the subject title sums it up.

See the attached photo of the Thai Curry. No curry, no rice, nothing remotely Thai. Sitting on a bed of mashed potato. The waitress insisted it was curry - she was obviously in a parallel universe!

The overall service was abysmal. Really folks, this is overpriced and the food and service abysmal. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank CPB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

Very impolite and rude staff. Nothing else to add to this. From the very beginning to the end of dinner

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Yes, it has a good location & great view of the port, but coffees nearly twice others we had around the area, and nothing special. Very indifferent service and the whole place needs a good clean - loos especially.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clare23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

This is a tourist restaurant no doubt; but actually it does a really good job. Our food was surprisingly good, the service was excellent and the view is great. If I had a complaint it would be that the wine is a bit pricey, but given the location I don’t think you could expect it to be much cheaper. I would go back.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank matthewc5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grand Rive also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
Change, Sarthe
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to La Grand Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing