We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vue Sur Cour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vue Sur Cour
Ranked #5 of 21 La Rochelle B&B and Inns
Lovendegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Vue sur Cour is an excellent B&B in the heart of La Rochelle. Rooms are perfect, clean and luxurious. Breakfast was good, we had no complaints or whatsoever. There was only 1 problem during our stay at La Rochelle in july: there was a music festival not so very far from the B&B (i guess it was called Francofollies), which continued almost the whole night, so i barely slept that night, due to all kinds of noise: the music of the festival and noise of people in the street afterwards the festival. If i would knew this before, i would not have chosen this place and would taken a place more out of the city centre. After all, Vue Sur Cour seems a nice place to stay, but i missed some heartiness, which i normally always felt during all my other stays in B&B in France.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthiasVlassembrouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
58
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Marika was the perfect host, very helpful and attentive. The rooms are beautifully decorated and traditional homemade breakfast in the patio was delicious.

We have already recommended to friends who have loved it also and I would stay again next time I visit la rochelle. Don't stay in a hotel this b&b has way more class and character.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodiefan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Had a fantastic two day stay in the 'Marie' suite, totally devine decor, very comforable bed, linen of high standard, exquisite personal touches, extremely clean and rooms smelt heavenly. Marika made us an incredible breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade yoghurt and preserves, array of fresh warm French breads and fruit and she was extremely helpful, ordering taxis and giving us directions in her excellent English, etc, she really made us feel so welcome! Highly recommend to anyone for a relaxing and comfortable stay within walking distance to the town centre and main tourist attractions. Thank You Marika! Nigel & Christine Hendy

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Vue Sur Cour is very close to the main sites in La Rochelle, so in that sense its location is excellent. However, it is on a main road and there's a bar just a couple of doors away so if your room if facing the front, you should expect some noise at night. The noise level will vary. We stayed for 3 nights; on the last night the crowd at the bar was obviously more rowdy.

Marika is lovely and she will certainly make you feel comfortable in her beautifully restored home. She speaks excellent English and is very helpful in making recommendations to restaurants and sights.

We had a double room and a suite. I think price-wise, they're a little on the expensive side. Both rooms were clean and well furnished. Though breakfast was nice - croissant, bread, homemade jams and yoghurt, fruits - some variation would certainly have made the experience more memorable and better value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourfivesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

I would recommend this lovely b&b to any of my friends or family. We loved it & can say trust the other positive reviews!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NessieNooNoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Really enjoyed our one night stay here with 2 young children. Our room had a double bed in one room and a sitting area which had a day bed and a matress for our youngest. Accommodated all of us easily. Loved how clean yet personal the room was - not like a city hotel but more like a french treasure behing the walls of the street! The bed linen was crisp, the breakfast lovely though kids would have preferred a pain au chocolat!! Noise was not an issue mid-week though I can imagine it could be noisy on the weekend. Fantastic location and owner very helpful for recommending restaurants and organising transport to airport. Would recommend it especially if one wants to hang out at the port and avail of the many boat taxis and boat trips! Ten min taxi to airport!.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We have just stayed here for 5 nights in the bedroom called 'Suite Marie' on our honeymoon, and it was perfect. The room was extremely comfortable and the decor was fantastic. It's just a few minutes walk from the Old Port area of La Rochelle, so is in a very good location. We were shocked at the reviewer who wrote a poor review as we simply cannot imagine why. The only negative was, yes, there was noise at night but, having seen some of the other hotels around the port I imagine they were jealous of our relatively peaceful location compared to theirs ! We found ear plugs at night did the trick as we are light sleepers, and waking up in the morning to a view of a lovely courtyard is a good start to the day. And if that's not good enough, the breakfast is gorgeous - home made jams and yoghurts, with fresh croissants, a selection of breads, and freshly squeezed orange juice. Will definitely be going back. (We also paid a little extra for secure parking just along the road which was a real added benefit).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#7 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#19 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#8 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles La Rochelle Centre
Ibis Styles La Rochelle Centre
#12 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue Sur Cour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Sur Cour

Property: Vue Sur Cour
Address: 10 rue Leonce Vieljeux, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vue Sur Cour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing