We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would do . .”
Review of Hotel La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Residence
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived in Cognac without a hotel reservation so ended up here as a result of the Tourist Information. Evidently all hotels in the town centre were full and the only reason that we're able to book this room is that it was supposedly a suite (at double to cost of the all standard rooms!!).

The hotel reception was extremely friendly and checked us in quickly and efficiently. They didn't even charge us for the garage parking which is normally an extra. Bearing in mind the room rate just for the two of us this was the least they could have done.

The room was clean and tidy with a very large double bed. There were facilities for two further single 'put-up' beds and a set of bunk beds so if there was a requirement for six people in a room this would be excellent value. As there wasn't six of us it wasn't. I wouldn't really have described it as a suite but two rooms knocked into one as there was only one shower room. Oh and that reminds me, we were a little disappointed there was no bath . . . there could have easily been enough room.

Breakfast was a little disappointing but functional and basic.

Very friendly owners and if we'd had a standard room at the standard rate we'd be more positive and have felt as though we'd had value for money . . . just not at 'suite' prices!!

Great location though just off the main square.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAAJRLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

During the hectic time of Vinexpo (in Bordeaux) and The Blues Passion festival (in Cognac), there is almost impossible to find any accommodation in this part of France. This hotel has a very good location only a two minutes walk from the heart of Cognac; Place de Francois 1er. This hotel is old, and not in very healthy shape; The shower must be hold by yourself, the characteristic black mushroom that appreciate old hotel bathroom was very happy with the lack of ventilation, the venetian blind outside of the windows has taken their last sleep (permanently down, and not possible to open). The room was not especially clean (very dusty on all surfaces, the bed and the toilets looks clean). No working TV, no minibar, extremely poor internet connection (switched between slow and non-working), and no secure fire escape route from the room on the top on the top of the roof. Refill of toilet paper only by request. Very simple breakfast (dry bread, one slice of ham per person, but on the other side; fresh baked croissants with a selections of confiture). The reception is closed from 9 PM. Why don't I give this hotel a lower score than 2 out of 5? I didn't expect much more at this price, and I was so happy to find an hotel during this awful hectic week.

Room Tip: Try to avoid 2nd floor, due to few possibility to get out in case of fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonbertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is a bit older, rooms are quite small, but ok for a low budget accomodation. Bathroom has not been cleaned properly. Staff was quite helpful and the location is good. Parking can be tricky as the hotel doesn't have any garage and you need to pay when parking on the street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi_55_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel lobby looks nice and welcoming and the hosts helpful and courteous giving me the key for the indoor parking 100 metres away ( not really needed as in summer on road is easy.
Room was downstairs (3) and coloured in the most vivid colours. It was clean but pokey. No air-con but opening windows was dangerous as the opening is at waist height for passersby. Bathroom small but clean with glass bricks into bedroom for the voyeurs both inside and outside the room. Had only paid very low price so probably shouldn't moan but room only restful when lights out. Go for slightly more expensive rooms or get onto upper floors.
Central for most cognac sights and very good restaurants and cafes nearby. Staff helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floors only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flynnwales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 19, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank moumoune22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with P’tit Dej-Hotel
Thank gazeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cognac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cognac
Ibis Cognac
#6 of 10 in Cognac
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Cognac
Ibis Styles Cognac
#2 of 4 in Chateaubernard
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#9 of 10 in Cognac
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence

Address: 25, Avenue Victor Hugo, 16100 Cognac, France (Formerly P'tit Dej-HOTEL La Residence)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range: $77 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at hôtel La Résidence Near to the historical centre, close to Place François 1er and the famous Cognac houses, HOTEL** La Résidence is ideally located. Built in traditional local stone, it can accomodate you for both business or a tourist trip. The hotel has 17 rooms individually decorated and able to accomodate up to a family of 5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing