We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”

Chateau Royal de Cognac
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.40*
and up
Prestige Visit of Chateau Royal de Cognac with...
Ranked #2 of 5 Tours in Cognac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Royal Château of Cognac overlooking the Charente river was initially a 10th-century fortress designed to stop Norman invasions, and then in the 15th century became a stately home which was the birthplace of one of France’s most illustrious kings, Francis I. Baron Otard, who had founded its Cognac House in 1795, quickly understands that the thick walls provide exceptional aging conditions for his eaux-de-vie. He purchases the Château, saving it from total destruction The Royal Château of Cognac, which became a historic monument, is now a witness to French history and a Cognac House. We are offering a variety of tours combining two aspects of history: the history of France and the history of Baron Otard cognac up to the present day. Welcome to the Royal Château of Cognac!
Reviewed March 14, 2018

A perfect mix of history of the Chateau Royal and the Otard family together with the production of Cognac! Tour took about an hour followed by tasting! We had the Introductory Tour which was good value at €11 each. The English version is at 2 pm and our guide Vanessa was very friendly and helpful. We parked in a free car park just a short way up the hill from the castle on the left.

Thank JK5148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne Z, Responsable relations clients at Chateau Royal de Cognac, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment.
We will sure let Vanessa know how much you enjoyed your Experience ! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"english tour"
in 8 reviews
"french history"
in 4 reviews
"king francois"
in 3 reviews
"interesting history"
in 3 reviews
"leonardo da vinci"
in 2 reviews
"renaissance architecture"
in 2 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 6 reviews
"ll enjoy"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 3 reviews
"informative guide"
in 2 reviews
"spoke excellent english"
in 2 reviews
"basic tour"
in 2 reviews
"castle"
in 27 reviews
"baron"
in 18 reviews
"production"
in 16 reviews
"distillery"
in 12 reviews
"brand"
in 9 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 279 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne Z, Responsable relations clients at Chateau Royal de Cognac, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017

The place is magnificent - 15th or 16th century castle that belonged to a King of France. Getting inside bring in a unique feeling of travelling in time. The history of cognac production is very interesting but I was mostly impressed by the cellar where you could find barrels over 100 years old. See my pictures made with Relonch camera for better imporessions.
The degustation in the end is pretty cool too. What I missed was entertaining part. Apart from the cellar all places are empty and the story told was a bit dull. At the end of the excursion i was a bit bored.
Otherwise all cool!

Thank Reloncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolande d, Gérant at Chateau Royal de Cognac, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Thank you for your comment, we take note of your remarks to improve our visitors' experience !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne Z, Responsable relations clients at Chateau Royal de Cognac, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

We visited and experienced a very interesting and enjoyable tour learning both about French history and the production of Cognac. Our guide, Priscilla, explained everything very well and was extremely helpful if we had any questions. The buildings themselves are extremely beautiful so I would highly recommend a visit accompanied by a tour. Oh and the taster Cognac samples were also very enjoyable. :-)

1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne Z, Responsable relations clients at Chateau Royal de Cognac, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad you enjoyed your visit as well as the final tasting. We will sure let your Prescilla know about your comment :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Royal de Cognac also viewed

Cognac, Charente
Cognac, Charente
 

Been to Chateau Royal de Cognac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing