We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An extremely interesting and educational tour. Thoroughly enjoyable”

Chateau Royal de Cognac - Maison de Cognac Otard
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.98*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Chateau and Maison de Cognac with Tasting in Cognac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Le Chateau Royal de Cognac is a 13th century historical monument and a French History Memorial. At the end of the 18th century, it was purchased by Baron Otard for the exceptional environment, temperature & humid conditions, perfect for ageing his eaux-de-vie. Let us tell you all about the history of France frorm the 13th to the 19th century, discover the splendid State Room where King Francis 1st hosted his guests. The Helmet Room, the Knight's entrance....learn why Baron Otard purchased the Chateau, discover the humid cellars in the depth of the Chateau, where the best eaux-de-vie are still ageing today...
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An extremely interesting and educational tour. Thoroughly enjoyable”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

On our visit to Cognac we were convinced that Baron Otard's Chateau was right outside the city, on the wrong side for us. However I was pleasantly surprised to find it right in the middle of the old part of the town.
There are various tours during the day, in different languages. We had to wait an hour for the English tour, but it was well worth it. The cost was around 7 euros per adult and children under 12 free.
The guide was absolutley lovely, pleasant, knowledgable and very personable and polite. The tour gave a brief histroy of the chateau, followed by an overview of the cognac making progress ( I wont tell you anything more than that so it is not spoiled if you go!!)
Just to say if you are in the area DO visit. Excellent.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad_and_Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    58
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming guide and wonderful historic Chateau”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Coming on Sunday to Cognac from La Rochelle we had a pleasure to have English guided tours at both Hennessy and Chateau de Cognac without previous reservation. Both guided tours were very informative and professional. Baron Otard visiting tour was just great with a charming guide and lovely presentation of both the history of the Chateau de Cognac and Baron Otard Cognac. My video (a video speaks more than words and photos) at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsxYQbkifYw

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank rtt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise - Cognac and Chateau”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I went with my wife and her parents on a fairly impulsive visit. We had a guided tour and the hostess was professional and the tour was very informative. Not only do they discuss Cognac, but also the Chateau - dating back several centuries - which was quite impressive. The tour ends with a tasting. For a smaller scale visit, much more focussed on Cognac, I suggest Birius!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Frans_Christa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford/chinon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“interesting tour, offhand guide”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The chateau itself is well worth seeing as long as you know something about French history and are interested in renaissance architecture, but the cognac side of the tour is disappointing. The still, wine press and processing methods are models and the different types of cognac are explained by synthetic flavours, not the real thing.

I think this tour could have been much better, but our guide was a young woman who obviously didn't want to be escorting a party of ten people over fifty! She was off hand, made no eye-contact, was very dismissive of ( French people's) informed questions and just recited her script. We have been to other similar types of tour, and compared to Moet in Champagne this was not very good. We were fortunate enough to have complimentary tickets, if I had paid 8.5euros I would have been quite cross.
If you are interested in Cognac, you would do better to book yourself a visit with a small producer who actually does the work, you can find them on the Cognac tourist board link.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank beaumont37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Royal de Cognac - Maison de Cognac Otard also viewed

 
Cognac, Charente
 

Been to Chateau Royal de Cognac - Maison de Cognac Otard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing