We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Cognac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cognac
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Oh the parking is convenient. The staff very pleasant and helpful, however -

1. The rooms are dated and the skirting around behind the toilet - not too clean
2. The door to the reception area was left open, and as the bar is there also, the noise down the corridor was dreadful. Why do people continue to hold a conversation whilst walking down corridors at night??

After a dreadful nights sleep, we decided to forgo breakfast - just wanted to get on the road.

Would not stay in this Ibis again unless it was updated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    97
    56
    19
    5
See reviews for
30
100
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We often choose Ibis for a short stay. Clean, comfortable, convenient. If your main objective is somewhere to sleep, you can't do better. This Ibis has a better than most petit dejeuner: lots of choice and excellent quality breads, cheeses, sweet cakes/breads, fruits. The coffee machine produces reasonably good coffee.
The hotel is very convenient to centre ville and the cognac tours. Parking is a large lot directly in front of the hotel (free). Unless you are making Cognac a base for exploring the area, why pay more to stay elsewhere ?

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is a step up from a hostel you get the bare minimum a room a bathroom and thats it, gloomy narrow corridors and expensive microwaved food.It has some redeeming points It is very centrally located and has free parking opposite.Ok for a one night stop over but not any longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cognac hotels

Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It is an Ibis, and I've stayed in lots of Ibis hotels around Europe because I know they are clean, convenient, comfortable and inexpensive. This hotel is your basic Ibis. I found the bed to be one of the most comfortable ones I had in France. The next day they moved me to another room and the bed was the worst one I had in France. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there early and they stored our bags for us, then stored them again the next day when we moved to a room with two separate beds. Parking was great. There is a large city parking lot right across the street. The location was good, only a few blocks from the plaza, which is the center of everything. I thought the hotel was very expensive for an Ibis. Cognac is a wonderful town, I would like to spend more time there in the future. I am not sure if I would stay at this Ibis, I guess that would depend on my budget. It was not quiet...not because of street noise but because of noise from the other rooms around and above me. It was very bothersome and would be the one reason I would possibly not go back to this Ibis.

Room Tip: The corner room right above the front door had the most comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cognac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cheval Blanc
Hotel Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#9 of 10 in Cognac
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#4 of 10 in Cognac
197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Cognac
Ibis Styles Cognac
#2 of 4 in Chateaubernard
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cognac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cognac

Property: Ibis Cognac
Address: 24 rue Elisee Mousnier, 16100 Cognac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Cognac 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Cognac hotel is located 500 m from the railway station, in the centre of Cognac, celebrated for its detective film festival. The Exhibition Centre and the theatre district are a few minutes away on foot. Recently refurbished, the hotel has 39 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, closed pay parking and a bar open 24/24. A golf course and a tennis court are available close by. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the Wifi wireless Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cognac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing