We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, very friendly hotel, superb service and good food”
Review of Domaine du Breuil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domaine du Breuil
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were two couples celebrating two birthdays and booked the package that included a trip to the Martell distillery. The hotel combined old fashioned service and style. Our rooms were lovely having been recently renovated on the second floor - I would guess from some of the reviews that these should be requested. The package was excellent value. The staff could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. The food was very good and we all had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that were renovated last year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

Booked this hotel in March this year for a nights stay first week in May, made sure to book a table in the restaurant that evening. On our arrival at 8pm were told the restaurant was closed on Monday nights, so no food, and we decided to leave. If this was the case they had over a month to inform me of this but chose not to!! To add more insult I was charged a fee for not staying, they mentioned that they could not resell the room, but as it seemed we would have been the only people there I think this a little strong, the place was deserted when we arrived and had to ring bells to get any attention.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Simon187063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Lovely house, very French and within walking distance of Cognac. We only stayed one night, but the room although small was confortable and clean. The evening meal that we had was of excellent quality and served in a very nice dining room, the bar had every type of Cognac you could imagine as well as all the usual drinks, and we found the owners to be very friendly and the service very good. Would we go there again, yes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnFR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Not easy to find in the residential streets above Cognac, an attractive old house with good views down the valley. Unfortunately, these houses do not lend themselves well to conversion and though the ground floor area was excellent, small high ceilinged bedrooms with large windows had been carved out what must have once been a lovely first floor. Ditto with the bathroom which was perfectly adequate but I could hear every word our neighbours said - luckily they were Dutch so their conversation remains private! The front & rear of the house both had terraces, with a good sized dining room with breakfast room off. The owners were very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff. We had a very acceptable supper and good breakfast with lovely ham and loads of coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed 3 nights and everything about this hotel was excellent. Monsieur and madame are very welcoming and we could not fault anything about the hotel or services. It is set in magnificent, tranquil surroundings and is a pleasure to stay in. Breakfasts are superb. On this occasion we did not have dinner as we had family staying nearby but in the future we certainly shall.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MaggyDampier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The building was great and the basic room ok. We felt the the staff to be too busy when asking for information not conserning their own services.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkpm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

romantic, quiet, incredible tasty food at the restaurant, breakfast: tea & coffee & croissants with marmalade.
rooms pretty small.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cognac
1.4 mi away
L'Yeuse
L'Yeuse
#1 of 4 in Chateaubernard
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Hotel Quai des Pontis
#2 of 10 in Cognac
238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Cognac
Ibis Cognac
#6 of 10 in Cognac
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Breuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Breuil

Address: 104 rue Robert Daugas, 16100 Cognac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range: $115 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Breuil 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Domaine du Breuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Breuil Cognac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing