We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostellerie Les Pigeons Blancs is an excellent restaurant (as well as hotel)”

Hostellerie Les Pigeons Blancs
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cognac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostellerie Les Pigeons Blancs
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This review focuses on the restaurant, rather than the hotel. This is arguably the best restaurant in Cognac.

The setting is calm and airy - a former farm, close to the main bridge in Cognac; so the setting is a walled garden close to the centre of Cognac and the river Charente. The site is child friendly, being a walled garden.

For dining - it is the best that we have tried in Cognac. 2 Seoarate dining rooms as well as covered areas ouside for dining in good weather.

The cuisine is exceptional, without being pretentious and the service is courteous and professional. The menu has recently been overhauled (perhaps following a criticism from a previouis visitor) and what is on offer would seem to be an improvement with a wide choice of starters (5) and main courses (8: 4 fish/seafood and 4 meat) and a dessert trolley (and a cheese trolley). Eating a 3 course meal "a la carte" would be relatively expensive (at least 60€ excluding beverages).

Lunchtime there is a lunchtime menu of 2 courses for 25€ - a bit expensive compared with the town centre.

In addition there are 3 other menus (lunch and evening):

"Fantaise d'un Jour" - every day a different 3 course meal for 35€ (you may take an "a la carte" replacement dish of a particular course for a small charge) - try it and enjoy.

"Menu Gastronomique Debutante" (18€) - 2 courses - for children - with a wide choice from the menu.

The 3rd menu (47€) is a bargain if you are 4 people - 4 courses and you only pay for 3 people so = 37€ - a better bet to dawdle over this in the evening.

Service impeccable.

Room Tip: Read other reviews for advice on the rooms - we have not stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jamesrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed here for one night only, thank goodness.
Rooms small, dark, noisy and creaky, especially when other guests are moving around.
Dinner cost is extortionate, breakfast consists of half a glass of orange juice, quarter baguette and a small brioch for 12 euros ! rip off, goodness knows what was on offer at dinner.
Would not recomend this place, seems to be nicer places in town as we had a really nice affordable meal in one of them

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank weebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I have to say the hotel is lovely, and our room, like the rest of the establishment, was tastefully decorated in a cosy French Provincial style. After a long drive, it seemed to be just the place we had longed for and we looked forward to a gastronomical dinner.
Big disappointment!
No à la carte but 2 menus with little choice. We picked the dearest one for 32 euros, a fair price I believe but nearly every dish came with a hefty supplement, the foie gras, the sweetbreads etc, even the cheese platter was an extra 9 €!
My husband had the foie gras poélé with lentils, a tiny slice of liver and an unspectacular salad of cold lentils. I had "cagouilles with cèpes" snails in other words with wild mushrooms, again the portion was minute - 3 snails! and rather dull. My carré d'agneau turned out to be two of the smallest lamb cutlets, again nothing memorable beside the miniature size of the dish! The Hare Papillotte was fine but no more and again on the tiny side and the tagliatelli served with it seemed to be out of a packet...I opted for the plateau the fromage which was extra but I decided I would forgo the dessert, a fact that wasn't taking into consideration in the bill. The choice of reasonably priced wines was poor with only 2 local wines and a starting price of 25 €, the Cognacs were exhorbitantly priced, averaging around 25 € a glass, needless to say we abstained as we had had a delicious one earlier on for 2 € at the local café! The bill came to 129 €...it was one of the worst value for money I have encountered in France ( and by the way I am French)
Breakfast also proved to be an expensive affair at 12€ for orange juice, a small brioche and a 1/4 of a baguette, on asking if it was possible to have an egg, we were handed a breakfast menu where we found 2 eggs were an extra 8€ ! Needles to say, we passed !
Incidentally you cannot have breakfast served in your room despite the outrageous price.
We left with the feeling that we had been ripped off...Shame.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at Les Pigeons Blancs in Cognac France and found the entire experience absolutely charming and delightful. The host and hostess were always kind and generous in offering help and suggestions. Very hard working and always cheerful, they both spoke English as a second language , tho the other help spoke only French which is more often the case in the countryside. There are only six rooms in a beautiful French hisoric building that has been converted to a hotel. We found them to be very large relative to other hotels in France. Especially the bathroom which also contained a full size bathtub. This was a very rare treat to find. There are low ceiling beams in the upper rooms, but to us this was not a problem they added to the charm of the rooms. They overlooked a beautiful pastoral landscape, the grounds were quite expansive.
The dining has to go down as one of our top ten meals ever! The food is not to be missed! Exquisite tastes, presentation, combinations, attentive service. Divinely delicious, ecstatic experience! A pleasure to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neptoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We visited Cognac for business in June07 and our french business associates booked the place for our stay. The hotel is very small, only 6 rooms and we booked up 5 of them. It is 3 storeys high and have no lift. So heavy luggages beware.

1. Rooms - they are relatively small but comfortable beds. We have the attic room which is the biggest among the 5. The windows open up to the garden. There are beams across and it is relatively low for tall people but it did not bother us as we are average height asian. I think anyone that is taller than 1.75m will have some problem walking about the room. No air-con but it is perfectly cool even in the day.

2. Bathroom - definitely small.

3. Amenities - light is dim and not conducive for reading. TV is small and not much channels choices. No water or tea coffee service in the room.

4. Breakfast is not included in the package. And the pricing is not clear till our last breakfast stay in the htl that they put a price list on the table. What is done already done, we just have to pay for them. Sigh.

5. The ppl at the hotel is helpful but do not speak much english. During our stay, we met only 2 managers. A lady and a gentleman. And there were alsoy 2 young men that double up as waiters and bell boys (if they are free). The main entrance will be locked after 9pm (?) but we will given the key to enter the premise by the side door.

We did not have much issues about the noise from the restaurant. Possibly we did not get back to the place till after dinner time. Neither did we get the chance to eat there cos it was fully booked for those nights that we stayed.

We did enjoy the stay as the place is slightly off town near to the river. It provides good rest and quietness. It serves as a good base for our various business meeting.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SinHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Never stay in this hotel. You ll be treated like [--]. Rooms are just up to the very noisy restaurant. The response of my complain from the boss was : search another hotel for your night if you re not satisfied! at 11h in the evening. What such a service!
dont go there to sleep, even if the restaurant is weel rated

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank 0n_the_r0ad_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cognac hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#4 of 10 in Cognac
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#5 of 10 in Cognac
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Cognac
Ibis Cognac
#7 of 10 in Cognac
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Hotel Quai des Pontis
#2 of 10 in Cognac
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Les Pigeons Blancs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Les Pigeons Blancs

Address: 110 rue Jules Brisson, 16100 Cognac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cognac
Price Range: $65 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing