We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A log cabin in Cognac”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A log cabin in Cognac”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I only stayed in Cognac for 1 night and this hotel was everything we needed. It has apparently just undergone a large renovation after suffering a fire and they have kept the feel of a converted barn. A lovely log cabin feel, and the offer of a quintessential French breakfast on the decking in the morning was just perfect.
Large comfortable rooms over looking the river and very helpful staff.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    74
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
96
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A former factory that made barrels and boxes for the storage and distribution of Cognac brandy has been converted into luxurious wooden lodges. There are also some traditional-style caravans and at least one fishing lodge in the beautiful grounds. The level of comfort and welcome could not be surpassed! The lodges which face the garden have views to the Charente river, and you can sit on your balcony as the sun sets and listen to the frogs croaking in the pond. Breakfast was continental in style but includes fresh fruit salad (rather than the usual tinned sort). The WiFi was adequate. There is a small open-air unheated swimming pool in the grounds, with sunloungers round it.

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge on the upper floor facing the garden. The other lodges are just as comfortable and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldawson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was unusual and amazing considering it is still in the process of being improved and in some areas totally refurbished. The welcome was extremely warm and friendly, even though we tried our best French the receptionists wanted to speak English to improve their language skills. The lodges that we stayed in are part of a refurbished warehouse and are brilliant, they are like Scandinavian lodges fitted out beautifully, as only the French can and although the bedroom was a tad small it was comfortable and unique. Very impressive and not too expensive considering it is right by the river and within walking distance of the wonderful historic town of Cagnac and all its attractions. Continental breakfast is available at a small extra cost and was very good.

Room Tip: Just ask the receptionist to show you the rooms they have a very unique selection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabibou, Responsable réception at Hotel Quai des Pontis, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
hello
we would like to thank you for your warming comments.

encouraging us to do it better and to improve our job.

we will be happy to welcome you again

kind regards

all the team of the hotel quai des pontis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaca, Spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Five star treatment by staff. We stayed in a cabin on the river. Beautiful views. We awoke to the birds singing in the morning. At night we sat on the balcony and watched the ducks and fish right below us. The cabins were roomy and well appointed. We liked the hotel bar, and they offered to bring drinks to our cabin, which was a ways away. Same with breakfast. When we mentioned that we were going to Hennessey, we were given a coupon for 50% off and Hennessey treated us as special when they found out where we were staying. Wifi in our cabin was great. TV reception was good, but we couldn't find any programs in English (maybe that's good because we watched nature and read. They are constantly upgrading the already appealing grounds. Great venue for a party, meeting or wedding. In a few years this will be acknowledged as a five star facility. Free parking on the premises. We hope to return.

Room Tip: We think that the cabin would be the best place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfredhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quai Des P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Quai des Pontis, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
hello

we would like to really thank you for your comments on trip advisor;

we are delight to read some mail like that, make us progressing every day and give us courage to be better.

we were very happy to welcome you in our hotel, give's you good services and smiles.

we hope to see you again and wish yu the best.

best regards

gabrielle gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We chose this hotel based on ranking, as we were booking last minute. This is essentially a summer resort, it looks like a great family spot. We needed room for 4 people, so chose a cabane-- a small cabin right on the banks of the river. First, although charming and adorable, this cabin really is not big enough for 4 adults/teens. It might be ok for a couple with two small children, but the 4 of us could barely move, there was not room for our suitcases-- and not enough seats beyond the beds. Also, it was wet and chilly in late March, and took a while to warm up. I wish we had been offered another room, as i think the rooms in the lodge would have been more comfortable. All this said, the cabane was clean, the bed comfortable, the pullout sofa bed less so. The facility has a large pavilion which looks like a lovely place for a party, a nice lobby, bar and breakfast room- which we did not use. I think we may have been the only guests that night. it would be more fun in the summer, with several families. the location was nice, though- and an easy walk across the bridge into town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the town and its restaurants and bars. Secure parking which was important for us with a car load. The room was spacious and clean with a little terrace which - had the weather been finer - would have been nice to sit with a drink or for breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the shower good. A fridge is provided and there are two boulangeries just outside the hotel gates. We will stay here again. All in all, excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Quai des pontes is located on the riverbank of la Charente, some of the cabins are almost in it. It's a quiet place with only 5 minutes walk to the small centre of Cognac. We first booked one night but desided to stay another two after seeing the place. We had one of the modern rooms with a patio and direct access to the garden. The pool is small, but we had it for ourselves most of the time. For a small charge fresh bread/croissants are delivered on the terrasse in the morning, so breakfast is ready when you are.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutdelafrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cognac hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cheval Blanc
Hotel Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#4 of 10 in Cognac
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#9 of 10 in Cognac
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Cognac
Ibis Cognac
#7 of 10 in Cognac
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quai des Pontis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quai des Pontis

Property: Hotel Quai des Pontis
Address: 16 Rue des Pontis, 16100 Cognac, France (Formerly Quai des Pontis)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Cognac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cognac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Quai des Pontis 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each accommodation for 4 persons at the Quai des Pontis has a living room with a sofa, a flat-screen TV and a DVD player. They also have a refrigerator, microwave and a coffee maker.Each accommodation for 2 persons at the Quai des Pontis has a flat-screen TV and a DVD player. They also have a refrigerator, microwave.Free Wi-Fi access is available in the entire property. A dinner tray can be prepared upon request.The residence also provides free and secure on-site private parking as well as a swimming pool. Bicycle rental is available and the property is just a 5-minute walk from the centre of Cognac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Quai des Pontis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing