We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Anda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at amun ini from feb 1 to 3, travelling as a family(me, my wife and 2yr old daughter)...All I can say about amun ini is that this place is a paradise! Place is very serene and quiet, infinity pool is very nice! Beach has white sand with very nice rock formations! Rooms are just superb! It's very big(with king size bed), Toilet and bath is also very nice! And my favorite place is the veranda, you can just sit there and relax all day! Hosts, fred and karin are very accomodating...fred looks like a very articulate guy who can chat with you about anything...price for me is reasonable(given the quality of how well maintened the place is), they're not the cheapest place around(probably one of the most expensive in bohol), but the place far exceeds my expectation. If you are looking for a budget trip, and would like to party your way on your vacation, this is not the place for you...this is a place where you can have your much needed R&R.

Only down side for us really is the food, I'm not saying that the food is not good(the food is great actually), but me and my daughter is not really a fan of gourmet food(we're actually fastfood babies), so next time(Yes, we're definitely be back here), I'll probably request a more 'lutong bahay' type of food from them...

Also, location is quite far from tagbilaran airport, but for me, I just enjoyed seeing the countryside(you don't get to see that when you're staying in the city)

Cheers to you fred and to the whole family....(I'm in no way associated with them, I actually booked our room thru agoda)

Benedict

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms from the villa to get you a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLC2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 450 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

dear carol..... i would just like to make it clear that i am in NO WAY CONNECTED to amun ini resort... you have your opinions and i respect it, but it is unfair for you to have made that comment.. i'm sure you are also well travelled and have high expectations but it is rather poor taste to accuse people who appreciated their stay in the resort of conniving with the owners just because what we experienced are different than yours...

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Mity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our two day one night stay at this beautiful resort was way too short, although it was the perfect way to recharge our batteries midway through a phenomenal dive holiday. The great wooden doors set in the beautiful tropical garden creates a perfect sense of anticipation after the rough road leading to the resort.

We were greeted like long lost friends and immediately made to feel very welcome and completely at home by Fred and his staff. We quickly sorted out our luggage while enjoying the welcome fruit cocktail and then went down to enjoy our lunch choices which had been very cleverly pre-ordered for us off the menu. We savoured the stunning views of the swimming pool and gardens while enjoying our delicious lunch and knew that we were in for a fabulous stay.

Our well appointed room was on the ground floor with a stunning view of the ocean through the gardens. The unique bathroom was quite luxurious. Our room also had fast wifi which was very useful. We made good use of the pool area and enjoyed sundowner cocktails before having a fabulous dinner and a great evening.

The small private and beautiful beach is perfect for good seaside relaxation. I would love to go back some day for another visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

"Welcome Home" The greeting we received on arrival. For the next 2 days it felt just like that. Whole place was so peaceful it would be easy to feel that we were the only ones there. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Service excellent in all areas. Staff and Hosts( including the dogs) welcoming and interested in their guests. View from rooms magnificent. Infinity pool creats feeling of continuity between land and ocean. Food well presented and enjoyable. Menu varied. Organised excursion with knowledgable driver to see chocolate hills and Tarsiers taylored to individual choices. Beach private and secluded. Just the place for complete relaxation and recharging. THANK YOU all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCIAJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

'Amun Ini' I am told translates to 'this is ours' and you really do feel that way from the moment you arrive and pass through the lush, tropical garden and into the immaculate entrance. Staff as well as the resort owner 'Fred' were there to greet us and offer fresh juice cocktails.

Now this is where it turns interesting. We are all animal lovers in my family and we happened to pick up a little kitten who was nearly run over. Not exactly the kind of baggage you bring with you to a resort, but we had nowhere to bring her.

You would expect that this would have caused quite a stir at the resort, but Fred and his accommodating staff handled the situation as if it was an everyday occurrence and graciously escorted their furry, four-footed and unexpected guest to the room complete with a little homemade bed to sleep in and hot water bottle to keep her warm.

After kitty's accommodation was secured, Fred walked us down to the spacious dining room overlooking the pool and sea below. Several lovely dogs lay sleeping either under tables, out in the open, and one was curled under a guest's feet. These are all dogs that Fred and his family have rescued and they are as much a part of this beautiful, unique and expertly run resort as the delicious food, the warm-hearted staff, and the meticulously cleaned rooms. Okay, enough about the wonderful assortment of furry friends...

The food. How to begin? The presentation, the flavors and the freshness are so unexpected especially when you consider that the resort is so remotely located. 'Adrian,' Fred's daughter is the head chef and she has made a point of using locally acquired and fresh ingredients in all of her cooking. All the dishes are unique and even after days of eating at the resort, I did not tire of the dishes available.

The room. Spotless, comfortable and quiet. The bed is spacious and comfy with quality linens. The shower always has hot water. The staff attending to the rooms are extremely well-trained. Towels are replenished on a daily basis and the room is always cleaned and in the evenings the bed turned down.

The beach and the pool are well-maintained and they can also arrange scuba diving for you at nearby dive shops. There are water sports activities available like stand-up paddleboards, snorkeling and kayaking.

Fred and his family are very much involved in the management of the resort and it is apparent in the quality service and attention you receive as a guest. We enjoyed seeing him and his family at breakfast for afternoon cocktails.

I would go back in a heartbeat. Nicer people do not exist. We left Amun Ini with full hearts and grateful for having such a lovely time with Fred, his family, the lovely staff and all the dogs and cats.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebisulikesthedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

There are some lovely things about this resort but every thing about it is overpriced. The rooms ae lovely,the swimming pool is generous in size (you can swim laps in it) the food is excellent and beautifully presented (for a western taste) and Kaen and Fred are most welcoming..BUT...

There is no shade whatsoever by the pool.. So if you do not want to bake in the sun, you cannot sit outside. The beach is small so you cannot take a walk on it. The little beach that they do have is not developed or manned by any staff. The masseuse I had left deep bruises on my arms that were so dark it looked like I had been assaulted. AND.... The cost of $250 per night is ridiculous when you can find an equally pleasant resort for $100/night.

I cannot believe that all the other reviews I have read so far are people unconnected to the resort,

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonson2838, Manager at Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Carol L,

Our normal policy is to respond in private to our guests who give their comments on Trip Advisor, but we are making an exception in your case because some of your assertions have cast doubt not only on our integrity but also on many of our guests who have reviewed Amun Ini on Trip Advisor. Allow me to respond to the points you brought up one by one.

1. “There is no shade whatsoever by the pool”

You are the first to bring this up and you are right. By 12 noon, 4 sunbeds are under the sun and this continues on until 4pm. We have made a conscious decision not to put umbrellas in this area so as not to block the view of the pool and the beach from the restaurant. In response to your comment, we have decided to level a small area on the left side of the pool where we can put a couple of umbrellas without sacrificing a view that we are blessed to have and are very proud of.

2. “The beach is small so you cannot take a walk on it.”

The resort site was selected primarily for the privacy a cove offers. It would have been great if the cove were a kilometer or more long and private, but it isn’t. It is only approximately 250 to 300 meters long depending on seasonal shifting of the sand. It has been like this for a few thousand years and we do not intend to substantially convert this cove into a nicely manicured beach. Anyone who wants a long stretch of beach should logically look for a resort situated on such a beach. There are longer stretches of beach in other areas of Bohol but they are not private, and you will have to trade off privacy in exchange for this.

3. “The little beach they have is not developed.”

The beach area is as developed as it will ever be. The shoreline and area behind it is being restored to its original state as best as we can. Native coastal plants, shrubs and ground cover species have been PURPOSELY reintroduced by us to encourage more nesting sites for the endangered Hawksbill turtles. We have had successful nesting seasons since we took over this site. Our efforts are monitored by a turtle conservancy group based in the neighboring town of Jagna. You may want to confirm this by checking our website, Facebook account, and on Youtube. Hopefully, you will appreciate and understand our philosophy of beach development.

4. “The masseuse I had left deep bruises on my arms that were so dark it looked like I had been assaulted.”

We will forward to Trip Advisor and request them to print your SPA GUEST PROFILE FORMS where you and your husband both rated the session as 5 (BEST). In your comment box, you stated “very professional therapist”, “excellent”. Your husband Ronald stated “very good.”

Later at dinner you were so ecstatic telling us that none of your massages in Cambodia, Vietnam, Thailand, etc. were as good as the one you had here. Ronald proceeded to turn his head left and right to show how effectively Jimmy, the therapist, managed to clear his stiff neck. To celebrate the occasion, we gave you a free bottle of wine of your choice.

Your therapist, Prestine, was absolutely shocked with your review since she says that you asked for very strong pressure. This was confirmed by the other therapist working on Ronald. Prestine claims that she has never been requested for pressure as strong as yours. She simply complied even with her hands and fingers cramping due to excessive force she had to apply to please your request.

However, thanks to your comment and to avoid future complaints, we have instructed our therapists to warn guests who request for very strong pressure, of possible bruising especially if they have sensitive skin.

5. “The cost of $250 per night is ridiculous when you can find an equally pleasant resort for $100/night.”

We are sorry you and your husband did not enjoy your 24 hour stay with us. By all accounts, your main issue is more focused on pricing and what you feel are ‘ridiculous rates”. You were told what our rates were when you called us to inquire for a room and you could have walked out any time after seeing our beach and other facilities.You did not, and even traded pleasantries and conversation during dinner.

We stand by our pricing policy and work very hard to meet our guests’ expectations. It is your prerogative to think that you can have an equally pleasant resort for $100/night elsewhere. This is very subjective and is dictated by an individual’s perception of what constitutes value for money and her comfort zone with pricing and other factors. For that matter, there are two other nearby resorts as well as a house with two cottages on the beach with rates that could have been more in line with your expectations and needs.

6. “I cannot believe that all the other reviews I have read so far are people unconnected to the resort.”

This statement is not only untrue but unfair to the more than 80 guests from all over the world that have commented positively on their stay with us. With this sweeping statement, you have cast a cloud of doubt on both the resort, and the integrity of all Trip Advisor contributors who have enjoyed their stay at Amun Ini and expressed their individual opinions on it through Trip Advisor. I strongly urge you to try and get in touch with any of the other reviewers to see if they were in any way connected to us before they came over. It is one thing to accuse us of bad service or having facilities that are below your standards but to publicly say that we are lying schemers is just over the top and personally insulting.

At Amun Ini we work very hard to please our guests and try to make sure that they enjoy their stay with us so that they get the best value for their hard earned money. However, we are also conscious that we will never be able to please everyone. We have an operating philosophy that tries to balance customer satisfaction, environment, and economics. We are very sorry that in your case we have not met up with all your expectations.

I sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay here in the Philippines.

Freddie Carmona
Proprietor and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This boutique resort is the place to go to relax. The host and hostess are very charming and friendly and make it a point to greet you and inquire about your stay. You definitely feel welcomed. The rooms are wonderful with a huge unique bathroom and comfy beds and duvets. There is even wifi - although it is much more relaxing not to know that! The beach is nice and private and the water clear and clean. The food is amazing and I highly recommend the coconut griddle cakes for breakfast! My only wish is that there was some chocolate on the dessert menu.

This is not the resort to go to if you want to party or have live entertainment, etc. This is a quiet resort geared towards relaxation and rejuvenation.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anda
2 mi away
J&R Residence
J&R Residence
#2 of 6 in Anda
228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anda White Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Blue Star Dive & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 12 in Tagbilaran City
410 reviews
40.7 mi away
The Peacock Garden
The Peacock Garden
#1 of 1 in Baclayon
294 reviews
49.1 mi away
Isla Hayahay
Isla Hayahay
#1 of 1 in Calape
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Bas Daku Beach | Candabong, Anda, Bohol, Anda, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Anda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Anda
Price Range: $254 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amun Ini is not just a beach get-away…it’s a breath-taking plunge into the bold, bright, and beautiful things nature has to offer. It is your home away from home. Amun Ini resort in Anda is a 3-hectare pristine white-sand beach property facing Camiguin Island. The resort is about ninety kilometers from Tagbilaran city, Bohol, Philippines. It is built to provide a breathtaking view of a crystal clear blue sea and all rooms have ocean view. We have a 300 meter wide beach, an entire private cove that provides the utmost experience in soul-searching solitude, and is a scuba diver's paradise. The cuisine is excellent and creative. Scenic natural attractions abound and the original lush vegetation has been preserved. Indeed, from the moment you set foot within its sprawling and serene space, you will discover that everything in Amun Ini resort is a homage to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa Anda, Bohol Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing