We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible location, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Star Dive & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Star Dive & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Anda
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Incredible location, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived to a friendly welcome after a very efficient pick-up from the airport. The location is quite incredible perched above the cliffs with an easy descent into the warm sea below. There is a superb house reef about 50m from the shore. The rooms are lovely bungalows overlooking the sea, with fans, we didn't need air con when we were there. The staff were all friendly and Diggi was extremely helpful and flexible with organizing our time. We snorkeled and scuba dived and cycled from the hotel, for a very reasonable charge. He organized a great trip back to Panglao via the famous chocolate hills and, a highlight for my son, the Danao Adventure Park. The restaurant served delicious food, with specials every night, often freshly caught! There is a good pool and you can sit in the jacuzzi watching the sunset. It is quiet and there is no exciting night life here. You can cycle or catch a tricycle-bike to Anda to walk along the beautiful white beach. It is a place to chill out, relax and swim. We'll be planning a return trip very soon!

Room Tip: All the bungalows along the cliffs are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
65
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have spent 4 days in the Blue Star Diving Resort and really enjoyed it. It is beautifully situated in Anda, a peaceful and tranquil beach village that has not yet been discovered by (mass) tourism, like Alona Beach (also on Bohol). The staff was really friendly and helpful, the food was great as was the 'house reef'.

If you are looking for some true relaxing (like we were after intense traveling in Philippines) - Blue Star is an excellent choice. And if you are looking for some more action, many activities can be arranged by the staff (but be prepared to pay Western prices).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorrit1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a great surprise when we arrived there after we booked at the last minute. The two owners had just took over the place (it was in Feb 2012) and we were very well welcomed. The view is perfect, right on the ocean. I've done only snorkling there, but it was amazing. Just in front of the hotel, you'll find a wall going on kilometers with beautiful living soft corals.

We hired 2 motorbikes from the staff and headed to Anda stopping at every interesting spots we could find. The area is very beautiful and clean. It is amazingly well maintained with flowers along the road and traffic signs showing the touristic spots like view points, beaches etc...

We had one of our best stay in this hotel, it's truly a gem. Thanks for all the staff who has been great with us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeremyCau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

First review I have ever written. I felt compelled to share this because I want others to know what a gem this place is.

We recommend this resort to anyone! We heard this was a great place and it exceeded our high expectations. The food was phenomenal. Fresh, great variety and consistent quality. Atmosphere was relaxing and charming. Service was tremendous and the hosts made you feel welcome like family. The views are breathtaking and the grounds were extremely well maintained.

SCUBA was outstanding and the instruction was top notch.After diving many places around the world, this was a better experience than any other. I could not believe the diversity of the reef that was just a walk down the resort steps.

The resort even arranged a tour of the island attractions on our way from the airport and personally picked us up and brought us back. We loved it. Great place to bring the family, but also would be a great romantic getaway for a couple or outing for friends. We are already returning a return trip to Blue Star.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. If you choose a room without A/C the view is even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SchaeferFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have never written a review before but felt compelled to do so this time as the place was SO exceptional. The resort is beautiful, the views stunning (especially from the cottage rooms) and Diggi and his team could not have been more friendly or helpful. We were there for ten days in August (the supposed rainy season) and had sunshine everyday with the odd spectacular storm, mainly in the evenings.

The resort is right next to a stunning coral reef and all the instructors have such enthusiasm and (importantly) patience, along with expertise of the area, and know exactly where to go and when. They cater for all experiences, we were beginners and saw some amazing underwater sights, but there were others staying who had been diving all their lives and where still blown away but what they saw each day.

The hotel serves delicious food and the layout allows you to be as sociable or private as you wish. We were invited along on trips - from island visits, to joining Diggi and his family for a meal at another resort - however there was never any pressure to accept, and so we had the perfect combination of quiet evenings by ourselves - lounging about on our balcony, by the pool or hot tub - or joining others for a drink or supper.

Janice could not have been more helpful and friendly. She helped us with all our public transport - explaining which buses to get where - when going to the Chocolate Hills. She also went out of her way to help us hire 2 scooters and then patiently taught us how to change gears etc when we realised that the bikes were more complicated than we were used to! Hiring bikes worked very well for us as we got to explore around Anda, where everyone was friendly and around every corner there was something beautiful to see.

I feel as though I am just scratching the surface with this review, as I honestly could not recommend a place more. Lovely staff, brilliant diving, friendly locals and far less touristy than most other places. In fact writing this has made me realise how much I miss the place, I would go back like a shot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipton under Wychwood,Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I saw this place after a long search for the right place & wasn't dissapointed, the views are even more breathtaking than the pictures & the accomodation is second to none.
The food was incredible throughout my 10 day stay & the local (slightly westernised) dishes usually consisting of cocnut, chicken rice/noodles are incredible & kept me away from the Western dishes on most occasions.
The staff are very attentive & couldn't do enough for us.
The cliff leads directly onto a coral reef & though i did go scuba diving you can see most of the incredible reef with a snorkel.
If I have to pick at something then the breakfast (though good) could be better & the Typhoon passing nearby could've waited a couple of weeks until I'd set off home. Otherwise an incredible little resort on a beutiful island & definately worth a second trip.
As for security worries.... I wouldn't even consider it, I was usually alone when off the resort & the locals are very friendly & I never once felt uneasy anywhere on Bohol.

Room Tip: The bungalows will give you a quiet, clean & comfortouble stay with air flowing through the that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camiguin, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

long weekend in June: nice and spacious clifftop cottage with a breathtaking view, great pool with panorama-whirlpool, good food, attentive service, professional dive center, comfortable boat, amazing walls = a stay to be repeated!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsada_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anda
3.2 mi away
Anda White Beach Resort
40.1 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
J&R Residence
J&R Residence
#2 of 6 in Anda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Petra Beach Resort
39.8 mi away
The Peacock Garden
The Peacock Garden
#1 of 2 in Baclayon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Dive & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Dive & Resort

Property: Blue Star Dive & Resort
Address: Ipo, Candabong | Bohol, Anda 6311, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Anda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Anda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Star Dive & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just high enough above the beach and house reef to enhance the view, this ample bungalow resort set in 2.5 Hectares of landscaped gardens in the region of Anda on the island of Bohol. At 40 meters above the sea, the volcanic rocky plateau provides a breathtaking view on the open sea and promises unforgettable sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Star Dive & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Star Dive Hotel Anda
Blue Star Dive & Resort Anda, Bohol Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing