We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Very Good' but only because of the food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“'Very Good' but only because of the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a one night stop-over on the way back to Calais. Inside the hotel is nothing special, just a large moden building which is mostly open plan (including the bar area). Outside, however, on the terrace at the back of the hotel the views over the lake are very nice and it is a very pleasant place to sit and enjoy a few drinks after a long drive. There is also a swimming pool, which several people were using as it was a very hot day. Sadly, our room, although large, needed some tlc. Paintwork was grubby and chipped and it was bland to say the least. Also, when lying in the bath, one got a rather unpleasant view of the very dirty underneath of the toilet rim. Apart from that the room was adequate for a one night stay and it did have a small terrace with a table and chairs. Dinner, however, was fantastic...a real surprise! Four star food in a three star setting!! I had foie gras followed by steak tartare. Really enjoyable. It should be said that the tarif for the room was very reasonable, along the lines of an Ibis but without the cleanliness or quality of the finish, so I feel a bit harsh pointing out the failings. Honestly, though it's nothing that could not be improved with a lick of paint and a good scrub. Plenty of free parking is available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    241
    57
    8
    3
See reviews for
100
289
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night at the start of a touring holiday in France.
The hotel has an enviable location at the edge of a large lake.
We had a standard double room, which was a good size, with a small balcony overlooking the lake.
We ate in the restaurant, which produced a fairly mediocre meal, followed by an equally mediocre breakfast next morning.
The hotel itself is bland and is a rather typical golf hotel, having a course close by.
The location deserves something better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG12a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Set a few miles outside Laon, loads of parking and close to the A26 for boshing up and down the country, this is an easy alternative to Reims and without the traffic.

However, it's not cheap and without A/C. Carpets could all do with replacing and both rooms I stayed in needed the decorator to come round and timp it up.

Really comfy bed and everything in the bathroom was fine. The shower head lights up from the centre when water flows............electricity and water? Oh well.

Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

This place is popular with Businesses, groups traveling around and families.

The setting on the side of a large lake is beautiful and very easy on the eye.

Service in the restaurant is very good, wine list not bad and good value. However, once busy the quality of the food seemed variable, very good when quiet, but not at all good once people started to arrive. Plate of cheese.............hopeless and tired, having been on the plate all day. There were far too many flies in the restaurant for my liking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

There is no doubt that this hotel enjoys a superb location and the facilities deserve the 3 stars ....BUT at these prices One should be able to enjoy a poolside dinner without the peace being destroyed by a bunch of loud mouthed louts. The hotel needs to decide soon who it caters for and if it decides to encourage this sort of clientele then it should give up it,s star rating and turn the Restaurant over to McDonalds.

A further sign of it,s downward move is the inclusion on the menus of Tex Mex...since when did the French need to take any notice of USA style fast food trends ?

The set menu was adequate but the dish of Veal ordered by my wife was so tough that she could not eat it, I complained the the waiter! nothing was done! nothing was offered.

Our overnight stay with dinner but without breakfast cost 225 Euros, we do. I think at these prices have a right to expect better.

We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Lake view top floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEXREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just come back from a 3 night break... Great location and great staff especially Quentin, Charles and the lovely Isobel. We ate in the hotel for two evenings, starter and desert were fine, however, all four main courses were overcooked and bland, shame... We decided to eat at Le Moulin Bertrand in Martigny-Courpierre... Fantastic husband and wife team great cooking and great value we paid £80 with a tip for two starters, main courses 1 desert and a bottle of wine and two glasses of champagne. Highly recommend. The golf course attached to the hotel, 2 minutes away, is superb. Some great water holes a good golf test, worth going there for lunch, great food and great staff... Enjoy

Room Tip: All have a view, we were on the second floor, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We chanced upon this hotel as we were heading towards Reims. Its location was ideal - rural but in easy reach of all amenities. Our room was pleasant with a balcony overlooking the lake. The meal that we enjoyed was good but not spectacular. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here recently whilst attending the Laon Historique car rally. The setting of this hotel is spectacular, situated right on the lakeside. All the rooms have a balcony and are facing the lake.

The service was excellent throughout our stay. There is really nothing to find fault with. The highlights of our stay include eating outside on the terrace in the evenings, the breakfasts and most exciting was watching otters swimming in the lake passing our balcony.

Would most definitely return. It is such a lovely area and a very relaxing hotel

Room Tip: They all have the same spectacular view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laon
13.9 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
6.0 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Des Francs
6.9 mi away
Hotel Les Chevaliers
10.1 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette

Property: Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
Address: 23 rue du chemin des Dames | Chamouille, 02860 Laon, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the stunning Parc Nautique de l Ailette and its golf course. A stopover for business or leisure in a natural environment. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, parking, jogging and billiards. Golf of 18 holes nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing