We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant hotel in a lovely location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our 1st floor 'superior' room overlooked the outdoor swimming pool and had lovely views over the lake. The pool was very welcome with the 30C temperature but would benefit from having a few more sun beds. Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. Dinner, outside by the pool, was excellent although the wine was rather expensive; we didn't take breakfast. The 'special' drink at the bar was a bottle of Dom Perignon at €179!! The Rolls Royce Enthusiasts Club were there for an outing; it's that kind of hotel. However, the staff were very helpful and the location is lovely. We would certainly like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor 'superior' room; it's worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 686 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our car club holds a rally in September each year, and in 2012 we returned to this Hotel as a party of 39 people (and 1 dog) Our last visit was in 2008. We had enjoyed the previous stay at this hotel, because of its beautiful location, and all rooms have a lovely view of the lake, are nicely furnished, and have tea-making facilities. This year our stay was just perfect from start to finish thanks to good management and friendly attentive staff. There was a wide choice of food in the buffet style breakfast, which was regularly replenished. The evening meals were of very good quality, presented and served very professionally. The swimming pool was kept perfectly clean, and sunbeds provided. Plenty to see and do in the vicinity and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swampies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We did a family overnight stay here on our way back from the South of France. Hotel location was very nice overlooking the lake and slightly off the beaten track so nice a quiet.

Greeting on arrival and departure was excellent and cannot fault, excellent customer service.

Breakfast was also very nice with plenty to choose from and staff very good.

Room very nicely furnished in a family room with great views over the surrounding lake and countryside.

Would happily visit again for longer and to explore the local area.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms above the kitchens can be noisy during the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguin2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week in September and thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and the location. Our room was very comfortable as was the bed. We had a half board package and the standard of the meals was very good indeed. The staff were very friendly and efficient as well as being smart and polite. The hotel is a good place to stop off for a night or two or as a centre for touring around as we did. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the lake although the central rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We used this as a stop-over after a week of camping and a week of boat hire so the large comfortable bed was very welcome. The room was very well-equipped with a sofa, comfotable chair and a balcomy with a view of the lake. There was also tea/coffee making facilities in the room which was much appreciated.
We ate in the restaurant which had a set menu for 30 euro for two courses. I was slightly disappointed with my food but my husband enjoyed his. We enjoyed sitting out by the pool with our wine after the meal. I would be very happy to return to this hotel which seemed a popular stop-off. It was also very well located for places of historical interest. nearby Laon was lovely and for those interested in WW1 it is part of the 'Rue de Chemin des Dames' and there are some local museums and places to explore.(The Caverne du Dragon)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam307cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

friendly lady at the entrance, big rooms, view on lake, close to beautiful area and historical places ( world war I), decent restaurant, relax atmospher, clean rooms, improved facilities, bicycles, umbrellas, winformation on walks, close to beautiful Vauclair ruines ( old dimilished abbey).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of a two-week trip through France. It's ideally located as a starting point - not too long a drive from the Eurotunnel, particularly if you have a long-ish drive in the UK to get to the tunnel. It has a large car park.

First impression was, unfortunately, of a smell of smoke - perhaps somebody was smoking outside the bar area at the back of the hotel when we arrived.

The room was very spacious, with a king sized bed and a single bed. As far as I could tell, all rooms overlook the lake. There was what looked like a control for air-conditioning on the wall, but definitely no aircon. We were lucky (!) that it was quite a cool July day, as our room was on the ground floor and we wouldn't have wanted to have to sleep with the doors open if it had been hot.

The bed (although not so much the pillows) was comfortable. We did hear some noise in the night from the corridor and the room above.

The bathroom was okay - decent shower head (which lights up, as others have mentioned). Decor was a bit tired and the water didn't drain away after I had a bath before dinner. This was soon fixed when we reported it to the reception staff, but judging by the marks around the plug, it's probably a regular occurence so should have been properly fixed by now.

There is a lovely little gazebo outside the bar, overlooking the lake. We went into it in the afternoon to take some photos and almost immediately a barman came to ask if we wanted anything to drink, which was good service. We declined but did take a glass of wine each (a Chablis and a red Graves, both available by the glass) out there after dinner and enjoyed the tranquil setting.

The food was mostly good - a leek tart to start, pork loin and a cod risotto (a bit too creamy for my taste) as mains and a good bottle of Alsace Riesling. Breakfast was also good and the staff were efficient.

When we arrived we walked into Chamouille and had a drink in a 'proper' French bar - good service and a nice atmosphere.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room so that you don't hear noise from the rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laon
14.1 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
680 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
411 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
446 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs
7.1 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette

Address: 23 rue du chemin des Dames | Chamouille, 02860 Laon, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range: $90 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the stunning Parc Nautique de l Ailette and its golf course. A stopover for business or leisure in a natural environment. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, parking, jogging and billiards. Golf of 18 holes nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing