We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place fromwhich to walk in a nice nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Certificate of Excellence
Gent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent place fromwhich to walk in a nice nature”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

friendly lady at the entrance, big rooms, view on lake, close to beautiful area and historical places ( world war I), decent restaurant, relax atmospher, clean rooms, improved facilities, bicycles, umbrellas, winformation on walks, close to beautiful Vauclair ruines ( old dimilished abbey).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    290
    71
    11
    3
See reviews for
129
365
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of a two-week trip through France. It's ideally located as a starting point - not too long a drive from the Eurotunnel, particularly if you have a long-ish drive in the UK to get to the tunnel. It has a large car park.

First impression was, unfortunately, of a smell of smoke - perhaps somebody was smoking outside the bar area at the back of the hotel when we arrived.

The room was very spacious, with a king sized bed and a single bed. As far as I could tell, all rooms overlook the lake. There was what looked like a control for air-conditioning on the wall, but definitely no aircon. We were lucky (!) that it was quite a cool July day, as our room was on the ground floor and we wouldn't have wanted to have to sleep with the doors open if it had been hot.

The bed (although not so much the pillows) was comfortable. We did hear some noise in the night from the corridor and the room above.

The bathroom was okay - decent shower head (which lights up, as others have mentioned). Decor was a bit tired and the water didn't drain away after I had a bath before dinner. This was soon fixed when we reported it to the reception staff, but judging by the marks around the plug, it's probably a regular occurence so should have been properly fixed by now.

There is a lovely little gazebo outside the bar, overlooking the lake. We went into it in the afternoon to take some photos and almost immediately a barman came to ask if we wanted anything to drink, which was good service. We declined but did take a glass of wine each (a Chablis and a red Graves, both available by the glass) out there after dinner and enjoyed the tranquil setting.

The food was mostly good - a leek tart to start, pork loin and a cod risotto (a bit too creamy for my taste) as mains and a good bottle of Alsace Riesling. Breakfast was also good and the staff were efficient.

When we arrived we walked into Chamouille and had a drink in a 'proper' French bar - good service and a nice atmosphere.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room so that you don't hear noise from the rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a romantic place to stop on our way home from Italy and this place was a bit off the motorway but had a pool and the lake site location made it look like it would fit the bill perfectly.
Well the welcome was great, the staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was great as was the pool ( outdoor and a bit chilly but great non-the less). Only down side was no air con and the room decor was a bit tired and dated. But great to wake up to a lovely view across the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claw_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night en route to the Verdun area and enjoyed our stay. We had booked a superior room, which was a decent size with comfortable beds, a nice balcony and a perfectly fine bathroom with bathtub/shower. The rooms are a little old fashioned, but far from unpleasant and did not spoil our stay in any way.

As a previous poster wrote, the shower head had built in lights which were quite funky and an unexpected surprise - my hubby now wants one of those shower heads for our home!

The views from the balcony over the lake were lovely, and the balcony had a small table and 2 chairs. (all of the rooms have balconies with views of the lake to the best of my knowledge)

Our room also had air-conditioning and a small fridge.

Breakfast was perfectly OK, but not the best I have had. It included Cold meats / cheeses / hot scrabled eggs and US style crispy bacon / eggs that you boil yourself in the adjacent cooker, lots of oranges for squeezing yourself or a Tropicana Orange juice dispenser, and of course fresh baguettes, croissants, choc-au-pain and cereals. Breakfast is priced at 14 Euro pp which I thought was expensive for what it was.

We ate dinner in the restaurant also, and I have to say that I was a little worried about that, having read previous reviews, but in the end we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the food was. I ordered food from the 25 Euro for 2 courses / 30 Euro for 3 courses and hubby ordered a la carte. Both sets of meals were very nice and well prepared. Yes, they are a little pricey , but to be honest no more than any other decent restaurants.

However, I would agree that the wines were pricey, starting at 22Euro for a bottle and upwards, with more in the higher price range than 22 Euro. I have to admit that we had brought some wine with us which we drank on our balcony, which made things a little more affordable.

All in all we had a comfortable night - the beds were nice and firm as we like them, and the rooms all offered complimentary WIFI, which was nice. There was also a pool on site and a pretty decking area set out on stilts over the lake.

We booked early at a rate of 109Euro for a superior room (excl breakfast) and felt it was worth the money.

Would we stay again? Yes, if we were passing and wanted to overnight. Clearly this is a golfing hotel so if that is you hobby, you're in for a nice treat as the location and course looked very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Rating of the hotel: average
Rating of the view: excellent !
Rating of the restaurant:poor

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. We really liked the place, especially the nice view from the rooms and the balcony.
The swimming pool was not heated ! (+17 °C, 19th May 2012) but looks really nice!

The food in the restaurant was nothing special and quite expensive for what you get. But the view from the restaurant in the evening is just perfect !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reddyfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night on 26th May, on our way from the Channel Tunnel to Nice. I booked the hotel before a recent poor review on TA, and was a bit anxious that I was in for a disappointment. However, the hotel was absolutely fine. We had a superior room on the 2nd floor with balcony looking over the lake. The bed was very comfortable, bathrooom no longer new but perfectly serviceable. The groovy blue light on the shower head was unexpected, but unfortunately the jacuzzi bath was not functioning.

Reception staff were helpful, and sent someone up immediately when I reported that the aircon remote control wasn't working. Choosing a table in the restaurant seemed a little disorganised, but we had a lovely meal on the terrace overlooking the lake, and a very good breakfast next morning. There was a regatta starting on the lake as we left, all very picturesque.

The hotel is very accessible from the tunnel, as it is only a few miles from the autoroute direct from Calais. It took us under 2 hours to get there, admittedly on empty roads on a Saturday evening. All-in-all, the perfect stop-over and we plan to return next time.

Room Tip: Superior room lived up to expections. All rooms seem to face the lake, but worth confirming on arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend, and some aspects of the stay were excellent..... however some aspects were very disappointing.
On the positive side, the location and the layout of the hotel is very good indeed. Fabulous views of the lake, with the mist rising in the morning. The rooms are starting to get tired, and need some repair and attention. Our room had several of the electrical fittings broken or loose, with a triple adaptor in one socket as there were simply insufficient sockets in the room. The carpet was also very badly damaged, and the woodwork generally chipped and scratched.
The hotel food was very disappointing indeed. One of the party had a steak kebab that was so tough it was imposible to eat, another had fish that she considered to be "off". When the concern was mentioned to the staff, the plates were removed, but no alternative nor apology was offered. One of our party went to bed on two chocolate bars as they could eat neither of the courses that they were served. This is inexcusable for a quality hotel. Not one of our party wanted to eat in the hotel for the second or third evenings.
Equally the breakfasts were basic, and the scrambled egg was dried up and had a firm skin or crust. The fruit salad appeared not to be fresh.
But the strangest aspect was that when I went out to check the car in the carpark at around 7.45 am, there were several cars around the car park with people sleeping in them. I dont know if these were staff waiting to go on shift, or were unofficial "guests". But is was a slightly strange, and almost unpleasant to find the car each side of yours was being used as a dormitory of sorts.

We must make special mention of Ann on Reception. Charming, most helpful, and an absolute credit to the hotel.

Would we stay there again. I dont think so. The situation and views are lovely, but going to bed without having any food that you could eat is simply not acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2000B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laon
14.1 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
667 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
392 reviews
10.0 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
7.1 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette

Property: Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
Address: 23 rue du chemin des Dames | Chamouille, 02860 Laon, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the stunning Parc Nautique de l Ailette and its golf course. A stopover for business or leisure in a natural environment. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, parking, jogging and billiards. Golf of 18 holes nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing