We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is home cooking, stylishly presented in stylish surroundings!”

Arsenic et Vieilles Dentelles
Ranked #17 of 74 Restaurants in Laon
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“This is home cooking, stylishly presented in stylish surroundings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

10 tables in a tiny restaurant. The interior is pure French shabby chic. Nothing really matches, yet everything magically does! The menu is fairly small (always a great sign in a small place) with about 6 or 7 starters and 8 mains and desserts. The food made me think I was at someone's home, in the very best sense. As the dishes were being cooked, one could catch the delicious aromas floating into the dining room. The tableware, glassware and cutlery was all beautiful and mismatched like the decor. The food was rustic, but simply stunningly presented. This is a modest place, but one can feel the care and love that has gone into every aspect. We had been in France for almost a month at this point, and I have to say that all in all, this is one of the meals I enjoyed the most.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    58
    21
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The last time we visited Laon was some years ago, and I recall being disappointed that the whole town and especially the area around the cathedral seemed to be very drab and unloved. So it was a pleasant surprise now to find the area around the cathedral tarted up and looking much more looked-after.

We stumbled across this restaurant by chance - looking round in the cathedral's immediate environs, this looked to be the nicest and most interesting - and had a very pleasant lunch. Not many tables in this small, family- run restaurant, but on a cold and slightly damp Tuesday in late May (yes, even in France) we were able easily to secure a table.

We chose salads (cesar and gourmande), basque chicken and prawn/salmon brochettes. All delicious and plentiful and served with grace and elegance by the delightful waitress. Very good value too as a two-course 'menu' at €16 per head. Would certainly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SometimeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh French cuisine but get in early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The restaurant is conveniently located less than 50m from the cathedral and unlike many of the other restaurants looks cheerful and approachable. Inside you would describe the decor as modern meets chincy with odd bits of furniture and lace.

This is a small restaurant with a limited number of tables, just enough for one waiter/waitress. It quickly filled up with families and couples alike so get in early.

Most importantly the food is delicious, well prepared with fresh ingredients. They also had a good range of well priced wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Family216443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lunch in a "family kitchen"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We liked the little eating room (something like 8 or 10 tables). Menu wasn't large but dishes were good and big. Decoration is old-fashioned, but in a nice way. Location of the restaurant, close to the Cathedral, is good. Service was nice as well. Prices were quite reasonble. Nice lunch experience for us in Laon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniZinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We were not poisoned :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent service. Wonderful food. Great value for money. Lovely surroundings. Steak Tartare to be recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank La_Flottaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arsenic et Vieilles Dentelles also viewed

 

Been to Arsenic et Vieilles Dentelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing