We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At its best 50 years on” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Banniere de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Laon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“At its best 50 years on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here overnight on our way back to England - with hard driving - from Provence. Despite the rain, the htel provided a very warm and welcome experience. This was my fifth visit over the past 50 years and the hotel seems to have improved in both service and comfort over past memories. We were enabled to park just by the front door (heavy traffic notwithstanding) and helped with our luggage to our second floor room. The room was spacious and stylish with two large double beds and a settee. We ate a very good meal in the restaurant - at a very reasonable (and sensible) price. Breakfast was very satisfying. After a fortnight of hotels of indifferent quality but at a similar price, this was indeed a most satisfying way to end our touring holiday. I look forward to at least a sixth visit.

Room Tip: Try for Room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TonyP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    96
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
132
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed with 7 other friends, very courteous service, and most accommodating - allowing us to park 6 bikes and one car in safety of their garage.
Rooms were a fine blend of authentic French and modern practicality.
Breakfast was delicious and dinner was just fine too.
Fabulous location that is a stone's throw away from the centre of the town with it's rather grand Cathedral.
Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Only my experience but room 17 is a good size double with a large bathroom, second floor, no lift bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Family stay in old style French hotel .Delightful .Food excellent and very good value .Very good service. Lovely to see this type of hotel still exists.We shall be back for long weekend and enjoy Laon Philippa and Geoffrey Moore Gloucestershire

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night but our room was stylish and furnished with antique furniture. We had previuosly stayed in 2000.

To be sure, the floor creaked and was a little uneven but the horel was lovely. Parking was quirky - if you don' have good nerves don't try to park underneath the hotel.

Dinner in the restaurant was above par and great value - and the breakfast better than usually found in establishments of this type.

Room, dinner, drinks, breakfast and parking for a lot less than 200 Euro - and in a great location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Service:
Excellent. Very personal service. Went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Room:
Room 11 - Twin.
Quaint room with nice, almost antique furniture pieces. Not very big but sufficient for a couple of nights stay. Clean. 19" or 21" flat screen TV which only had French channels.
No safe. Ample wardrobe space.

Bathroom:
Basic bathroom, but clean and of a generous size.
Towels were far from plush though and quite 'thin'.

Location:
Very much in the heart of the old part of town. Very short walk to restaurants and bars and also bakeries for French breakfast.

Additional:
Free WiFi throughout hotel.
Some parking but needs to be prearranged and is chargeable at €9 per night. Not suitable for larger cars.
Reception only manned until midnight.

Summary:
Absolutely fine for a couple of nights stay and at the price good value for money. Travellers looking for a luxurious, modern hotel look elsewhere.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MaKSiNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provence
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped en route to the south.

Car park quirky but safe.

Very warm welcome and offered a choice of rooms. Typical small French hotel.

Excellent value half board rates with good food.

Worth considering for the weekend rather than the dreary channel port hotels as it is right in the centre of Laon.

We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel - not so much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

A type of hotel / restaurant that is slowly dying out, great old building with courtyard and secure parking (charged). The building is very old and my room was spacious with old fashioned furniture and an adequate bathroom that had a rather DIY feel to it. My evening meal in the delightful dining room was a bit of a disappointment, at €36 I had expected something a bit more special, but the quality was sound and the service excellent. Buffet breakfast was fine but not exceptional.
Staff were very nice. Laon is a surprising place set on the top of an unexpected hill, with an interesting railway device to get you to the old town should you arrive by train!
I would return to this hotel, but would probably try the cheaper menu.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laon
7.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Chevaliers
1.1 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
12.3 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#7 of 8 in Laon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Banniere de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Banniere de France

Property: Hotel de la Banniere de France
Address: 11 rue Franklin Roosevelt, 02000 Laon, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Banniere de France 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the MEDIEVAL TOWN OF LAON and its classified surroundings, Mr Moustadraf and his professionnal team will offer you a warm welcome at the HOTEL DE LA BANNIERE DE FRANCE, a former post-carriage inn , where you will enjoy the charm of a entirely renovated, tricentennial country inn and a restaurant for gourmets. .The 18 BEDROOMS, the private park place, the GOURMET RESTAURANT with a choice of the best French vintages from its famous wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Banniere de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Banniere France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing