We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good after 10 years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Family stay in old style French hotel .Delightful .Food excellent and very good value .Very good service. Lovely to see this type of hotel still exists.We shall be back for long weekend and enjoy Laon Philippa and Geoffrey Moore Gloucestershire

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 245 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed just one night but our room was stylish and furnished with antique furniture. We had previuosly stayed in 2000.

To be sure, the floor creaked and was a little uneven but the horel was lovely. Parking was quirky - if you don' have good nerves don't try to park underneath the hotel.

Dinner in the restaurant was above par and great value - and the breakfast better than usually found in establishments of this type.

Room, dinner, drinks, breakfast and parking for a lot less than 200 Euro - and in a great location.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Service:
Excellent. Very personal service. Went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Room:
Room 11 - Twin.
Quaint room with nice, almost antique furniture pieces. Not very big but sufficient for a couple of nights stay. Clean. 19" or 21" flat screen TV which only had French channels.
No safe. Ample wardrobe space.

Bathroom:
Basic bathroom, but clean and of a generous size.
Towels were far from plush though and quite 'thin'.

Location:
Very much in the heart of the old part of town. Very short walk to restaurants and bars and also bakeries for French breakfast.

Additional:
Free WiFi throughout hotel.
Some parking but needs to be prearranged and is chargeable at €9 per night. Not suitable for larger cars.
Reception only manned until midnight.

Summary:
Absolutely fine for a couple of nights stay and at the price good value for money. Travellers looking for a luxurious, modern hotel look elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MaKSiNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped en route to the south.

Car park quirky but safe.

Very warm welcome and offered a choice of rooms. Typical small French hotel.

Excellent value half board rates with good food.

Worth considering for the weekend rather than the dreary channel port hotels as it is right in the centre of Laon.

We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel - not so much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A type of hotel / restaurant that is slowly dying out, great old building with courtyard and secure parking (charged). The building is very old and my room was spacious with old fashioned furniture and an adequate bathroom that had a rather DIY feel to it. My evening meal in the delightful dining room was a bit of a disappointment, at €36 I had expected something a bit more special, but the quality was sound and the service excellent. Buffet breakfast was fine but not exceptional.
Staff were very nice. Laon is a surprising place set on the top of an unexpected hill, with an interesting railway device to get you to the old town should you arrive by train!
I would return to this hotel, but would probably try the cheaper menu.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff were really nice and friendly and rooms were all different shapes, sizes and decor. Some had been very recently redone and the owner seemed very proud. Dinner and breakfast were good and everywhere was clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissiehodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a typical quirky French hotel all rooms are individual and reflect the owners style.
The hotel staff were very friendly and professional with good attention to detail.
Everywhere was very clean with a good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms with a corner situation are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laon
7.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Chevaliers
1.1 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
12.3 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
685 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#8 of 8 in Laon
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Banniere de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Banniere de France

Address: 11 rue Franklin Roosevelt, 02000 Laon, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range: $88 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Banniere de France 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the MEDIEVAL TOWN OF LAON and its classified surroundings, Mr Moustadraf and his professionnal team will offer you a warm welcome at the HOTEL DE LA BANNIERE DE FRANCE, a former post-carriage inn , where you will enjoy the charm of a entirely renovated, tricentennial country inn and a restaurant for gourmets. .The 18 BEDROOMS, the private park place, the GOURMET RESTAURANT with a choice of the best French vintages from its famous wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de la Banniere de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Banniere France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing