We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little town centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Laon
provence
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great little town centre hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped en route to the south.

Car park quirky but safe.

Very warm welcome and offered a choice of rooms. Typical small French hotel.

Excellent value half board rates with good food.

Worth considering for the weekend rather than the dreary channel port hotels as it is right in the centre of Laon.

We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel - not so much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    100
    44
    14
    8
See reviews for
42
139
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

A type of hotel / restaurant that is slowly dying out, great old building with courtyard and secure parking (charged). The building is very old and my room was spacious with old fashioned furniture and an adequate bathroom that had a rather DIY feel to it. My evening meal in the delightful dining room was a bit of a disappointment, at €36 I had expected something a bit more special, but the quality was sound and the service excellent. Buffet breakfast was fine but not exceptional.
Staff were very nice. Laon is a surprising place set on the top of an unexpected hill, with an interesting railway device to get you to the old town should you arrive by train!
I would return to this hotel, but would probably try the cheaper menu.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Vale
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff were really nice and friendly and rooms were all different shapes, sizes and decor. Some had been very recently redone and the owner seemed very proud. Dinner and breakfast were good and everywhere was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissiehodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a typical quirky French hotel all rooms are individual and reflect the owners style.
The hotel staff were very friendly and professional with good attention to detail.
Everywhere was very clean with a good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms with a corner situation are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had a quick look at the most recent reviews which all seem very favourable and I would certainly endorse all the good things that were written.
We have given up on B&Bs and find city centre hotels much better value and La Banniere certainly falls into that category.
We arrived very late owing to appalling blizzards in the Jura mountains. Tried to phone ahead but owing to incompetence on our part couldn't get through. So arrived at 8.45 pm; no problem, they knew about the blizzards so guessed we would be late. We were expertly helped to reverse into the covered garage. After a quick change we were in the dining room by 9 pm, aware that in many French towns people eat early, but there was no rush, plenty of time for the 4 course menu at 33 Euros. Snails in cream and garlic in feuillette were excellent, so too Aiguillette of Lamb, and the puddings. Wine list had a number of half bottles; perfect for us as I drink red, and my wife white.
The room was very pleasant and after a trying day we both slept like logs. Breakfast included good coffee, and a butter and chocolate croissant each, and all the usual continental things as well as some excellent jams.
Could we leave the car in the garage until 11 so that we could walk round the town? Certainly you can leave it till midday. Sadly there is currently some scaffolding on the outside of the cathedral, but the interior is stunning, and the views from the ramparts panoramic.
I have paid a lot more for a lot worse hotels than this. Thoroughly recommended for a stopover, and make sure you have a couple of hours to wander round on arrival or in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is not a five star luxury hotel, rather it is an excellent traditional hotel in the best provincial French tradition - perfect for an overnight stop reasonably close to the Channel crossings. Its location in the old town is great, with the cathedral within easy walking distance. The staff were extremely welcoming and attentive. Parking in the hotel garage/courtyard is an interesting exercise but again the staff were very helpful and even managed to fit in a vintage Rolls-Royce (not ours) on the night we were there. The rooms were very satisfactory without being luxurious and even though our room was at the front of the hotel, there was no problem with traffic noise. The restaurant meal and the breakfast were both excellent and great value for money. We will certainly return rather than flashing past on the autoroute like we have many times before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hantsmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you decide to visit, or stay in, Laon, then everything you will want to see lies within the confines of the upper city, stuffed with old churches, ancient buildings and historic monuments. The Hotel de la Banniere is therefore a great place to stop as it allows all sights to be reached on foot. Drive up and leave your car in the hotel's garage (height restrictions) or in the main square nearby.

The hotel is old-world and a bit creaky, but charming for it. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful from beginning to end. The rooms have been 'modernised' with flat-screen TVs, and the hotel's free wi-fi works in some of them, but they are quaint or odd, depending on your viewpoint. Rather unsuitable wall-coverings and fittings have been added, but this is not your bog-standard Novotel, and neither should you expect it! Windows were double glazed but traffic noise got through, as did light through the unlined curtains. The bed was moderately comfortable.

The breakfast was good enough for the price with fruit juices, cereals, breads, scrambled eggs and non-English sausages. The hotel has its own good restaurant for lunch and dinner where we ate well on our one evening.

What you mainly get from the Banniere is an old, quaint hotel well located for Laon. It's well worth an overnight stop, and may come in handy for those travelling to or from France as it is only just over two hours from Calais, and 6km from the autoroute.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath, if this is important to you. You can also ask for a room facing away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laon
7.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Chevaliers
1.1 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
12.3 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#8 of 8 in Laon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Banniere de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Banniere de France

Property: Hotel de la Banniere de France
Address: 11 rue Franklin Roosevelt, 02000 Laon, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Banniere de France 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the MEDIEVAL TOWN OF LAON and its classified surroundings, Mr Moustadraf and his professionnal team will offer you a warm welcome at the HOTEL DE LA BANNIERE DE FRANCE, a former post-carriage inn , where you will enjoy the charm of a entirely renovated, tricentennial country inn and a restaurant for gourmets. .The 18 BEDROOMS, the private park place, the GOURMET RESTAURANT with a choice of the best French vintages from its famous wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Banniere de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Banniere France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing