We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little town”
Review of Ibis Laon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Laon
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Three ageing motorcyclists stopping over after a tour of France and on the way home. A clean, modern hotel with very good services and just what was needed after a day on the roads. The staff were very helpful and the food and drink good. The town of Laon is a gem. Like so many French towns and cities after you get through the modern parts the centres have been maintained in the old style with beautiful old streets , with lovely bars and cafes. The Cathederal is very impressive and worth a visit. Want a night stopover on the way to Calais - try it.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Davesorrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 419 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was an overnight stopover as part of a National Holidays coach tour. Check-in of the 48 guests was prompt however getting cases to rooms was hindered by there only being one lift.

Room 218 was reasonably sized and clean with slightly dated décor. The bathroom had an over-bath shower which maintained temperature and pressure (though the close proximity of a wall light was concerning especially when it flickered) and there was also a hairdryer/radio unit but the hairdryer was faulty. There was no kettle or refreshments tray provided.

Of the 24 TV channels, only BBC World News and Eurosport were English speaking. I therefore made use of the free 24hr wifi access which was stable and relatively speedy beyond the initial registration.

My sleep was disturbed on a few occasions by road noise and the snoring/coughing from a neighbouring room - the accommodation would benefit from some improved sound insulation (or take your earplugs!).

Due to the lengthy journey I decided just to eat in the hotel rather than going a few miles into the main town. There was a small menu (no English translations) and I chose pizza with a side salad for 8€ which was satisfactory. There weren’t any takers for a 15€ green salad!

The buffet continental breakfast was reasonable but the displays needed to be better organised (plates and trays should be at the point of queuing and coffee re-fills shouldn’t be amongst those queuing for food). This resulted in breakfast being rather rushed and tempers frayed.

The advertised room rate for my room was 60 – 90€ plus 9€ breakfast which seems generally in line with other accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ermintrude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank winstanley2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kosanders
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Easy to find with free car parking. Room spotless and spacious, larger than some IBIS we have stayed at. We opted for the pre purchased breakfast which was adequate, not a huge selection, but fitted with our travel plans. Staff very helpful and friendly.

On the outskirts of town.... but it is well worth the effort to go up to the old town which is amazing.

Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cotgarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Absolutely ideal spot for a stopover on our way to Calais but we do feel that Ibis are pricing themselves out of the market these days compared to individually owned hotels
However we had a very pleasant stay overnight and the room was comfortable and clean and we were not disturbed during the night by any other guests

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank janandjohn_herger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice room on 3rd floor @ back of hotel overlooking car park so very quite @ night, lots of secure free car-parking spaces @ hotel. Ate in restaurant on first night because of weather, but food was so nice, we ended up eating in there for all 3 nights, house wine was reasonably priced & enjoyable, especially the rose. Would definitely stay there again if passing through

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aintnofliesonme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laon hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
2.0 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#8 of 8 in Laon
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inn Design
Hotel Inn Design
#6 of 8 in Laon
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
1.1 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
2.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Laon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Laon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Laon

Address: Avenue Georges Pompidou, 02000 Laon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range: $52 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Laon 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Laon hotel is close to the centre of Laon, 3 km from historic town centre and its cathedral. A little further afield, visit the Caverne Du Dragon war museum (18 km) and the Center Parcs (15 km). Book one of our 72 airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet (including 3 adapted for guests with limited mobility) and benefit from our amenities, 2 meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar, snacks 24hrs, a terrace area and secure private outdoor parking. Golf and tennis facilities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Laon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing