We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis - Laon”
Review of Ibis Laon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Laon
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    170
    102
    46
    13
See reviews for
67
184
25
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was ok but we were told the restaurant was fully booked so we would not be able to eat there. We ventured into Laon courtesy of a fabulous local taxi driver and were able to finish our holiday off with a good meal and wine. The shame of it was when we returned to the hotel the restaurant was deserted and gave us the impression that it had not been busy at all that night. The staff were luke warm to say the least, I just got the impression that they had no time for stopover Brits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshjools62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Situated just off the A26 and useful for those en-route, or visiting the area. Large, fairly secure car park. Typical Ibis hotel with simple but clean and functional rooms, comfortable beds, usual pod bathroom with excellent shower.
The hard working staff were helpful and professional throughout our stay. The free Wifi worked well in the rooms and public areas.
For motoring enthusiasts the Reims-Gueux site and Reims Motor Museum are well worth a visit. Reims cathedral is stunning. A one day tour of The Somme was planned using Paul Reed's excellent website, search for "The Somme Battlefields in One Day". This was a moving experience.
Laon's medieval city and cathedral are well worth a visit. A well preserved and fascinating area. The climb up the hill is interesting but hard work. Free parking is available near the cathedral between 12 and 2, and after 6. We took a taxi on the last night which saved much effort.
After a mediocre meal the first night we discovered Le Patio just 5 minutes walk from the cathedral. Simple but superb food, great service and modest prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cortontrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had stayed here three years ago as an overnighht stop each way going to Burgundy & were impressed enough to book again for our overnight stays this year for a similar journey. This time it was even better, very clean, friendly, helpful staff, excellent food both for dinner and breakfast, the room was comfortable & the air conditioning worked well (essential on our outward trip as we arrived in a heatwave). The only thing I would suggest is that more than one towel each would be useful, perhaps a bath & handtowel each. Also, don't follow Google directions, we tried this in 2006 & got hopelessly lost and we already knew roughlywhere it was! Stick on the N2 & there is direct access.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 422traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a typical IBIS, which is normally the type of hotel we use when travelling in France. This one was perfectly clean and with a good restaurant, for straightforward French food. The bedrooms were fairly recently modernised and standard IBIS pattern. The hotel is out of the old centre of Laon, probably a good 30 minutes walk to the cathedral, but only about 10 minutes drive. There is a large car park at the hotel. It is about 15 minutes drive from the auto route. The only criticism I would make was that the receptionist seemed a little offhand, but that is not unknown in such places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Conveniently located, spacious rooms with wooden floor and a spaceship kind of bathroom! Queen size french type bed in a clean environment. Restaurant is of good quality and reasonably priced. If you arrive in time a stroll to the old town is highly recommended - though you need your car to reach it. 5 minutes from a major shopping centre. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Arrived quite late, after 9pm and had planned accordingly so no need of the restaurant which appeared to be closed anyway. Staff were polite, bit indifferent but reception changed the room booking to make two rooms with interconnecting door available. Also was happy to sort out a beer later for me, seemed he was doing all the work.
Breakfast was fine but all cold food, except toast. We were late in, 9.30 and they wanted to set up for lunch so we couldn't have a window seat. Were helpful and efficient and let us eat without pushing us out by 10. Check out was quick and pleasant.
Overall a nice place to stay for the night

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skileader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laon hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
2.1 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#8 of 8 in Laon
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Chevaliers
1.7 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Laon
Ibis Budget Laon
#6 of 8 in Laon
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Laon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Laon

Property: Ibis Laon
Address: Avenue Georges Pompidou, 02000 Laon, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Laon 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Laon hotel is close to the centre of Laon, 3 km from historic town centre and its cathedral. A little further afield, visit the Caverne Du Dragon war museum (18 km) and the Center Parcs (15 km). Book one of our 72 airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet (including 3 adapted for guests with limited mobility) and benefit from our amenities, 2 meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar, snacks 24hrs, a terrace area and secure private outdoor parking. Golf and tennis facilities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Laon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing